Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life por parte de Universidad de Chicago

4.9
estrellas
1,904 calificaciones
617 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Principales reseñas

MJ
24 de may. de 2020

It has been, in all, a wonderful experience taking this course, Prof Peggy is really good at what she does, wonderful content, stories, instances, and videos. Learnt a lot from this course, thank you!

PM
22 de mar. de 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 615 revisiones para Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

por Esther M

2 de jun. de 2020

Best teacher ever in my life! Thanks so much Peggy Mason for your down-to-earth yet scientific and precise approach to our brain.

Starting with brain development and how information is transferred along neurons via action potentials and neurotransmitters, she has covered the most important aspect of each sense and the different functions the nervous system is involved. She never missed the chance to link her explanations to interesting books about that topic, real-life experiences or her cats' examples :) It has been a joy to be part of the student body here. The way the materials are structured, in loads of very focused 3-to-10 minute videos in optimum for today's lifestyle. THANK YOU, PEGGY.

Bad news is, I have now realized how complex the brain is and how much more there is to be learned yet! :)

por A. F P

10 de jul. de 2020

I'm a neuroscience researcher and although the course was rather basic level for me, it provided a nice and funny review that cheered me up during the sad times of social isolation and COVID-19 pandemia. Professor Peggy has great didatics, I think I learned a lot about didatic skills just by paying close attention to her - and she is such a sweetheart, I LOVED how she used her cats as examples during the class, that was just iconic! The course also gave me some research ideias, so even though it's basical neurobiology content, I'd totally recommend it to other young neuroscientists as a review that provides a certificate from UChicago and as a way to take a look in topics we don't often read about, since we are too focused reading the topics we do research about.

por Bee S

12 de may. de 2020

Super awesome. I love how in-depth and visual the explanations. It's so obvious how excited Dr. Mason is about explaining the material as well as making sure it's presented in a way everyone can understand. The only two things I would change would be the following: (1) Attaching a PDF or image of the material that is drawn in the board that the professor is about to elaborate on would be so helpful! That way, as a student, we can follow along with the example rather than trying to navigate to points in the video where Prof Mason isn't obstructing the view of the board. (2) *Totally* personal preference, but the 12 second musical clip at the beginning starts to lose its charm after the 3rd week. haha. All in all an absolutely awesome class!

por Moyra R D

26 de ene. de 2021

I found the course extremely informative, It has increased my my knowledge of the brain and its working s. It has shown me the complexity of the relationship between the brain and the body, not just in physical terms, but in emotions and all other aspects of living. Professor Mason's respect for the brain and its components never lets you forget that these are humans we are studying and dealing with. I have a much greater understanding of the human condition, both in healthy bodies and in those where the brain has been negatively impacted in some way. Professor Mason' s presentation is always clear and well illustrated and her style of lecturing leaves on in no doubt of her dedication and knowledge.

por Сазонова О С

31 de ago. de 2020

It seems to be the best course I've ever taken. I want to thank the team who developed it and especially the professor Peggy Mason. She is unbelievable! To teach such complicated subject with such clear manner - it's a real talent. The course itself is well structured and logical. I'd like to mention, that as assignments are quite challenging, they capture real effect. That's why for me it was a great satisfaction every time I got a high mark. I also had a tremendous pleasure to prepare my final essay. It was absolutely necessary, because it helped me assemble all acquired knowledge into complete image. I had a great time learning there! I wish the professor had any other courses.

por Maria

7 de feb. de 2017

I enjoyed this course a lot, Prof. Mason is a brilliant lecturer, very passionate about her subject and makes very complex phenomenas easy to understand. I definitely recommend this course as introduction to a fascinating topic of neuroscience. The only disappointment was that the staff was not very active at engaging in forum discussions and did not provide any live feedback. I am sure that a course would benefit so much is the students had opportunity to address their questions and thoughts to Prof.Mason and her assistants directly. Thank you so much! Hope that someday you will decide to launch a new advanced course looking deeper at the topics we covered.

por Dr. V S

5 de may. de 2020

Prof. Dr. Mason is a great instructor. She really keeps you attached to the theories and her examples to describe those theories are most relatable in our everyday life. Now I can understand how much brain is plastic, how it communicates with other organs. How Neural communication occurs, why and how thalamus works as a relay center in the brain. How much hippocampus is critical in memory formation and storage. You can understand this concept herein this course. I recommend this course to each and everyone who loves Neuro and seeking to get some lessons and credentials in neurobiology.

Thanking you Coursera, Dr. Mason and University of Chicago for this one.

por yanira n

3 de ago. de 2020

I was always very interested in knowing how the central nervous system worked and this astonishing course gave me the opportunity to learn about the exquisite complexities of the human brain. It has enabled me to gain more understanding of the neurons, his functions and how they communicate with each other. Likewise, I now feel able to apply knowledge from the course and better understand how a brain may be functioning or malfuctioning. As well as offer me the opportunity to gain more in depth understanding of different brain disorders and how they affect the brain. Thanks Dr. Peggy Mason and coursera for this great opportunity!

por Nastasja O

10 de ago. de 2020

Best course I've ever taken! Peggy is an amazing professor, she teaches very important and difficult stuff, but she explains it perfectly. When you are taking this course, you learn a lot just by listening, lectures are so good that you don't even need to try that hard to remember the content. I'm not saying it is easy of course, but it is described so well that studying becomes really enjoyable.

I would recommend this to everyone who is interested in seeing the other side of human behaviour. Super interesting and a great challenge for those who like learning. Also, you will hear a lot of good jokes, be sure of that :-).

por Steph

26 de oct. de 2020

This was a great course, and I learnt a lot despite having studied some neurobiology before. Dr Peggy Mason is a fantastic instructor - thank you for creating such an awesome resource. I learnt, I enjoyed learning, and I regained some previously-dampened motivation for keeping on learning!

I hope to see more from Dr Peggy Mason in the future, and have already been recommended to a youtube playlist (medical neurobiology) which I'm looking forward to watching.

Also props to the jingle-writer for this class because my brain played that tune over for about 12 miles of motorway driving and I didn't even get mad.

por Isaac F

6 de jun. de 2020

This course ended up being better than I expected. I have a sociology/psychology background, so it was rather intriguing to dive into the neurobiological roots of behavior. More specifically, how neurons interact with each other via neurotransmitters and how the different regions of the CNS communicate with the PNS using these neural pathways. Professor Mason presented the material clearly and in an easy to understand manner for someone who lacks a background in the life/physical sciences. Furthermore, the virtual labs were extremely helpful in identifying the various components of the CNS.

por Marilyn B

21 de mar. de 2021

I really liked the course, I am very grateful to have the opportunity to learn about the amazing world of Neurobiology. I think that a key piece in this course is the Professor, because she is very passionate with her work and all of that good energy is what she share in every single class. Also she presents the topics in a further way than just definitions and book explanations, she motives us to go further, to read more, to learn more and to investigate more of each topic. Now I want to continue learning about the Brain and the amazing connection with the rest of the body and society.

por Jenny T

21 de dic. de 2020

An utterly fascinating course - quite challenging for me but so rewarding. There were new discoveries to learn around every corner,. Professor Mason throws clear light not only on some neurological diseases with which many people are unfortunately familiar; but also very many aspects of our normal experience of day-to-day life. I now have a much better understanding of things I have taken for granted in the past, and a set of course notes (made easy by Professor Mason careful descriptions and explanations), that I've no doubt I will refer to again in future.

por Jérémie M

10 de ago. de 2017

Best course in Neuroscience so far!

The content really match the title : You will learn many neuroscience notions explained with examples of your everyday life, which make it easiest to memorize!

Teacher is great and give you many examples and illustrations of what she explains, which make the course really alive.

She speaks slowly, probably for people struggling with english, so you can easily speed up video at x1,25 ... and voilà! ;-)

There is also many optional dissection videos which are of great interest to visualize brain anatomy.

por Rogerio d L e S

22 de ago. de 2017

I am very happy to have participated and successfully completed this course that through neurobiology (neuroscience) I can see the world, or our reality with different eyes from the conventional. Understanding, Understanding and Evaluating every act of the human being is simply sensational !!!

Great course, I recommend to all who love and are interested in life.

Congratulations to the entire Coursera Team and Congratulations to Dr. Peggy Mason and the University of Chicago for the excellent course!

Thank you all!!!

por Valeria C

5 de jul. de 2020

Courses like “Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life” and the passion and patience of Professor Mason encourage people to learn more about the functioning of our brain in order to understand its complexity, beauty and also its fragility. As a neurolinguistics’ student I started this course just as a complement to my university studies, but now I see in the understanding of the brain the possibility to improve people’s life from different sectors (medical, psychological, educational, etc.).

por Juliana A

26 de jul. de 2020

This course has been very eye-opening for me. Neurobiology is everywhere and you can find it in every situation. The course materials provided are very well moduled and presented in detail. The course instructor, Dr. Peggy Mason, is also extremely engaging and friendly. I'm grateful for what I've learned through the course and I highly recommend it to everyone. I love how learning and understanding even just a little bit of Neurobiology can help you to be more empathetic towards others.

por Asha P

9 de sep. de 2017

One of the most informative courses I have ever done! And Professor Mason presented it in such a elan, peppered with personal anecdotes and humor, I had to take breaks to soak in the information. The final assignment was brilliant and helped my apply and analyze my learning. I highly recommend the course. I am grateful for this entire experience. I intend to join more of such courses, or if there is, an advanced level of the same. Thank you for making me feel absolutely accomplished:)

por Sumairan B

18 de dic. de 2018

Greetings! That course was amazing, Respected mam Prof. Peggy Mason is an intelligent and motivating teacher. I really like her teaching style. Thanks respected mam, University of Chicago , Coursera , Pakistan HEC. Thanks allot for enhancing my knowledge.

I want to make a request please don't take these lectures OFF from my account if possible , I want to review them again and again. At least for one year ,till next December I want to review these lectures please. Thanks to all

por Theofilos K

2 de nov. de 2020

That was an amazing course to take, and I will be definitely coming back, watching the videos for a better understanding of the material. Ms. Peggy is a very passionate individual, making her teachings very much enjoyable and comprehensive. I 100% recommend this course for everyone, understanding even a little the way we humans work will help you in your life in so many ways. (Especially enhancing your empathy - bring more goodness to the world so we can everyone enjoy that)

por Elias J A

20 de mar. de 2020

Prof Mason matches passion with expertise as she brings you on the full tour of neurobiology, beginning with our neuro-anatomical genesis and leading you all the way to the higher, abstract functions of the mind. Her lectures are short, "bite-size" if you will, and her enthusiasm will get you hooked - it's not just good content. If you're looking to blitz through a thorough overview of the subject, I could not recommend this course and its instructor more highly.

por Arijit B

7 de jun. de 2021

I am a Biotechnology student, but I am having soo much interest in Neurobiology. Because of my interest I thought to do my PhD on Neurobiology . But as a Biotech student I do not have Neuroscience in my Course.

So I thought to enroll for this course to get more knowledge in the field of neurobiology. And I found that this course is soo well explained and informative, This course helped me a lot to continue my studies in neurobiology with a very good knowledge.

por Zinaida K

3 de feb. de 2021

This has been an incredibly entertaining and useful course. The first weeks were great refreshments of the biophysics courses I had 15 years ago in the university. I enjoyed the explanations on the real organs. I absolutely loved the way Prof. Mason talks about the brain and neurons, with so much passion as if those are her kids :) I was very sad to see I was done with the video materials.

I would like to thank everyone who participated in this excellent course.

por Rishika R

4 de oct. de 2020

This is the first course I took on coursera and I have to say that it has been an amazing experience learning here. The videos, quizzes, assignments are very well structured. Dr Peggy Mason is a brilliant professor and her style of teaching connects students with her very well. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned a lot about neurobiology of our everyday life. I always wanted to study how our brain functions and I am glad I opted for this course.

por Alvaro P V

24 de jul. de 2018

Great course! I am an architect and I have not studied nothing related to medicine or psychology before. I became interested in the course since I want to generate a bond between architecture and neuroscience. This course has been a great introduction, and although it was demanding on certain lecture videos, overall it helped me grasp the essentials of the brain and the nervous system! Peggy was awesome all the way, making it fun, deep and accessible!