Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life por parte de Universidad de Chicago

4.9
estrellas
1,908 calificaciones
618 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Principales reseñas

PM
22 de mar. de 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

VK
26 de jul. de 2020

This course has been an eye-opener for me and has helped me to better understand the brain from a perspective of empathy towards those suffering from debilitating disorders, thanks to Professor Mason.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 616 revisiones para Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

por Geshel R

1 de jun. de 2021

​This course had helped me to the basics of neurobiology. The discussion were simple and easy to follow. The topics covered were well-organized and this had taught me how amazing our brain is!

As an aspiring neuroscience student, this course had given me the foundation that I needed and it motivated me even more to pursue neuroscience.

T​hank you so much for Professor Mason and the staff for sharing the wisdom and knowledge behind neurobiology!

por Lyudmila F K

2 de oct. de 2020

It was a great course with an excellent explanation. Many thanks to Chicago University and to the Professor Peggy Mason for making this course interesting and the topic easy to understand. I learnt a lot about brain functions and how our brain is organized from the neurological point of view and enjoyed every minute of the course. I’ll definitely recommend it to others and I’d like to do more courses like this in the future. THANK YOU!

por Danielle W

27 de jun. de 2020

I was highly impressed by this course. I found everything to be extremely informative and easy to follow. Neurobiology is a difficult topic to learn, and I think Professor Mason did an incredible job of doing so. I appreciate her use of real-life examples and her passion while teaching this course. I look forward to using this knowledge in my future career with cognitive science and will definitely recommend this course in the future.

por Lisa R

17 de may. de 2021

An excellent course for the lay person to get an overview of the power of the brain. The course content provides windows into the causes and limitations caused by common medical conditions allowing us to have better empathy and understanding of those who are diagnosed with conditions such as MS, Parkinsons, stroke etc.

The professor is very candid and entertaining. She is obviously enamored with the brain and it's capacity.

por Roman Y

25 de dic. de 2019

Very detailed and elaborate course materials, interesting review exercises with above average difficulty by Coursera standards. Professor Mason taught the course topics in a very structured, clear and concise way covering many different aspects of the functioning not only of the brain itself but also of the nervous system as a whole. Definitely one of the great courses on the neurobiology which helped me learn so much.

por ANJANA K

22 de sep. de 2020

First of all, I appreciate the instructor of this course, Dr. Peggy Mason for her wonderful and energetic sessions. I am a Psychology student and most of the topics covered in this course are basics in Neurobiology, but very relevant in Psychology. Especially the sessions that talked about Embedded emotions and Abstract functions were very relevant in my field and I am happy that I could learn well from this course.

por Ghadeer A

11 de sep. de 2020

Although I have not personally met Professor Mason, her passion towards neurobiology and her compassionate take on its various manifestations in people have cemented her as one of my favorite professors ever. This course presents neurobiology's fundamental areas of research and highlights the most interesting facets about them in a way that makes you want to keep learning long after you have finished the course.

por Wilson R

27 de jul. de 2020

Fascinante!

Dra. Mason é uma excelente professora, que sabe motivar os alunos de forma contagiante. Espero um dia conhecê-la pessoalmente. O curso foi muito bem estruturado e mesmo eu, que tenho apenas nível intermediário na língua inglesa, tive um bom entendimento.

Outro aspecto que me deixou bastante impressionado foi a maneira respeitosa e apaixonante como a Dra. Mason se referiu aos pacientes e casos citados.

por Maria S

8 de feb. de 2019

The course is amazing. I want to thank professor Peggy Mason and the team that made the videos. The course is not only useful, it's incredibly interesting and moving.I especially enjoyed that we got to see the brain in all its glory. The drawings, pictures, microscope slides and, finally, seeing the actual human brain - it all contributes to a better understanding of this part of the whole inner Universe.

por Priscila B B

5 de feb. de 2018

I'm really thankful to Coursera, for making this course available so that people all over the world can know more about the neurobiology of everyday life, to professor Peggy Mason, for her passion for teaching and helping people, which translate into elucidating, engaging and funny lessons, and to the classmates who reviewed my final project, for dedicating their time and attention to help a fellow coursemate.

por Jeremy J W

7 de dic. de 2020

A great, well taught course that illuminates the mysteries of the workings of the brain in easy to understand videos lectures. Prof Peggy Mason is an excellent lecturer, who uses tech, white boards and real brains to illustrate complex discoveries in neurobiology. I enjoyed the mix of lecture, tests and assignment- the balance was just right for reinforcing and extending learning opportunities. Thank you!

por Jey S

15 de may. de 2020

The course gives a good overview of the different aspects related to possible dysfunctions in the brain, along with the explanation of the basic mechanisms of non-altered working functions. The teaching approach of Prof. Mason is great and it helps not only to understand the possible diseases from a technical point of view but also to clearly imagine the human aspects associated to the possible disorders.

por sattvik b

28 de may. de 2021

This is a really amazing course will a lot of interesting topics and the professor goes over them in a very friendly and anecdotal way. You won't feel lost or confused as the professor gives plenty of examples and the discussion board is always there to help. Overall this course is really good for anyone interested in studying how our brain biology affects our mood, behavior, and perception in the world.

por Mikey K

3 de ago. de 2020

Professor Peggy Mason is a prime example of how I wish other professors taught: she brings the course to life and makes it fun and interesting. I have never liked school, and have never had a particular interest in science, but she actually makes me not want to stop learning and watching her lectures. Kudos! I wish I had professors like her when I was in school. I learned a great amount because of her.

por Susanne D

12 de jul. de 2018

I am very thankful for this interesting and entertaining course experience. I taught me a lot about the human brain and the nervous system. What I especially like about this course is that besides teaching people knowledge it also promotes awareness and compassion for people that are affected by diseases or injuries of parts of the nervous system. Thanks a lot to Professor Peggy Mason and her team :)!

por Alexandra V

27 de dic. de 2019

Extraordinary. For those who like to understand how things works, there is nothing more beautiful than understanding how masterfully our brain and body work, the how's and why's of many of our experiences find an answer here. Prof. Mason's ability to convey the information and the material with such clarity allows you to understand this course even if your background is far from this field of study.

por Laurie V

6 de oct. de 2020

Peggy Mason is an inspiring teacher. She teaches with passion and makes these fascinating topics really accessible. I am an Artist with a literary curriculum, and I managed to pass my exam, thanks to her permanent attention to her students with non-scientific background. I feel like I've spent these 10 weeks around a bench in her anatomy lab. So proud to be initiated to this amazing science...

por Michal L

2 de sep. de 2020

It is an amazing course, I would recommend to everyone interested in getting better understanding of how our nervous system works. It is very insightful and in simple way explains complex topics of neurobiology. It allowed me to perceive our reactions, behaviors and capabilities from completely new angle. Thank you Prof. Peggy Mason for sharing this course via Coursera! You did an amazing job!

por Lorenzo P

17 de jun. de 2017

I wanted a basic knowledge of the brain mechanisms to better understand perception and drug effects. I learned much more and I am so happy!

Prof Mason is a wonderful teacher that is able to make everything interesting using real-life examples and also some funny things from time to time.

I think that what I learned is going to be useful in every aspect of life, both theorical and practical.

por Roaa Q A

23 de jun. de 2019

I want to really thank Dr Peggy Mason for such a wonderful course, your topics, your explanations, and your work was fascinating, Your passion was obvious as I loved all the things you've said

I took this course as a speech-language pathologist, I wanted to be specialized in the neurogenic language disorders and this course was so helpful.

Thanks Coursera for such a wonderful opportunity !

por Sue C

10 de jun. de 2020

I found this course to be excellent, and mentally stimulating, explaining things that we take for granted, and showing the amazing agility and range of the brain and CNS. The lecturer is great, clear and enthusiastic, and what I have learned is applicable not only in everyday life, but relevant in my work which often involves working with those suffering various neuro issues. Thank you!

por Lingde K

26 de jul. de 2017

This really is the neurobiology for everyone. English is not my native language and I have no relative academic background. But I could still understand every espect of this MOOC. Professor Mason inspired me a lot with her spirit of humanity throughout the course. Thank you for this wonderful course! I sincerely recommend this course to you guys who are interested in this magic topic.

por Shelley J

19 de sep. de 2020

I enjoyed this class very much and appreciated Dr. Mason's passion for neurobiology! I loved the way she presented the deeper concepts and bigger picture of the components of the brain, its structures and processes. There are many profound and heart-felt learning moments, as well as fun and interesting, eye--opening information as you're learning about neurobiology in everyday life!

por sarah c

13 de sep. de 2020

An absolute pleasure to participate in this course. Peggy Mason is an amazing tutor who keeps you fully engaged within all contents of this course. This is the first course which i have done on neurobiology but thanks to all involved with this course it certainly wont be the last. It is fascinating absolutely fascinating. Thank you Peggy Mason for opening neurobiology up to me .

por Nikolett S

20 de jun. de 2021

I learnt a lot about how the human brain works with examples from our daily lives. I higly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in neurobiology, but has no prior education/experience on the field. Absolutely informative and entertaining. Thanks Dr. Peggy Mason for this course. Your knowledge is mind-blowing and hope to listen some other lecture from you in the future.