Chevron Left
Volver a python para ciencia de los datos genómica

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a python para ciencia de los datos genómica por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.3
estrellas
1,541 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Principales reseñas

KR

16 de jul. de 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

AN

14 de jul. de 2022

It was easy in the beginning but gets hard and changing at the end.

It was such an honor th have a course with Professor Salzburg.

I would recommend it to all bioinformatics lovers.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 299 revisiones para python para ciencia de los datos genómica

por luis p

20 de jul. de 2020

Educational

por Eder A F L

12 de dic. de 2020

Very good

por Helen E

1 de may. de 2021

Thanks to the instructors for the content of the course. I have some recommendations for improving the quality to make it more comprehensible for newcomers to the field. I think the gap between what is instructed in the class and the exams are massive and the student may find him/herself overwhelmed. I do appreciate it if the forum for each week is more active. There are so many questions unanswered in each week's forum. I think if the moderators guide the students more actively, forums are also a very good chance for us (students) to learn new prospects.

I like to learn the bioinformatic and I think this course was a good start. Thank you very much for giving me this chance to learn something new.

por maryam m

1 de ago. de 2021

I wanted to learn this course for Biopython. But it was in the last chapter and they only teach it for 15 minutes and very fast. I think it was not good enough. I knew the Python language and other chapters were like Python reviewing for me. And the last important point was about the final exam. They taught Biopyton very quickly and superficially, but the final exam was very difficult and about Biopython. This frustrates students and they feel that they do not have enough ability to learn Biopyton. It is like teaching students multiplication and then taking a test to solve a complex equation ...

por Yonatan M

13 de oct. de 2020

Nice course if you hace programming skills already and very entusiastic teachers!

The biggest flaw in my opinion is that in order to pass the course, you already have to have a solid background and experience in programing.

Another thing is they dont give programming HW in this course and only Qs you have to run in the shell to get the right answer or you have to spot mistakes in the code.

My advice to the new students in the course is to take each method/function/module and find exercises in the internet to get hands on experience with it (there are alot of sites in google with great exercises).

por Lily Z Z

19 de jun. de 2018

Great leaps of difficulty seem unavoidable in this kind of courses. It felt rather easy at the beginning of the course but the level of difficulty just increased exponentially. Programming actually takes a much longer time than simply 4 weeks to learn and practice to be skillful. So please add some sort of warning stating"decent background knowledge required" to the course introduction or it will be a torture taking the course as a completely beginner. The course design could have been done better.

por Sally S

7 de may. de 2016

I enjoyed the lectures, but I felt they didnt go into enough details on analysis of sequence data. The final project was considerably harder than the material taught in the class and problems with the course (e.g. the final exam file not being available) had obviously not been fixed since the last version of the course. A fell I now have a good basic understanding of python but not enough to do any real analysis. Fantastic course mentor/TA.

por Fadilla S

24 de ago. de 2022

The materials taught are quite interesting but hard to follow as the quizzes are harder than what we have been taught. Also, I personally had a hard time understanding Ms. Mihaela Pertea, PhD as she did not speak quite clearly and seem nervous. I think this course needs to be updated in terms of the video contents and the way the lecturer speaks so that learners could get the point of each video easily. Thank you.

por JoRa

25 de abr. de 2020

If you're an absolute noob, I'd rather recommend to do a basic python course first, otherwise you wont be able to do the course without learning those basics on the way.

All in all the course was OK, but could be a bit more hands on, e.g. providing more data to analyse oneself as in the last final exam. Compared to the GALAXY course in the second lecture, this final exam is rather easy.

por Nguemaha M

25 de nov. de 2018

I took this course without a background in biology or genetics. The material sounds interesting but the lecturers rush through it so fast. They do not provide sufficient explanation of the biology to allow completion of the programming assignment. They ask to write a code for finding ORFs yet they don't even explain how ORFs are defined in case of multiple start codons and end codons.

por Thomas G

10 de oct. de 2022

The final exam was by orders of magnitude more difficult than what the lectures covered. Completely out of proportion, and practically impossible to work out without a decent amount of preexisting Python programming skills. Definitely not a course for beginners. Still, with a whole lot of effort in addition to working through the course materials it was a valuable experience.

por Bartłomiej P

19 de jun. de 2020

The course in no way prepares the student to complete the final exam of the course, if this course is for people without any prior python experience, I really pity the ones that had to go through it.

I myself had some experience but it was challenging for me to do the final quiz, but it was fun.

The course is overall good but needs some updates from the tutors.

por Aviel A

8 de nov. de 2022

Started promising, but in the end I don't feel like they gave tools to really be able to process a relevant file. No explanation on how to use and import Biopython into the working system.

you can find it yourself online, but then again, I wanted the course to find everything and arrange it for me , cause otherwise I can just search everything online.

por Rebecca M

2 de ago. de 2022

The lectures were really good, and from having taken the Python For Everbody course I could keep up with what they were saying as they only taught the basics.

How ever, the exams were extremely difficult as they had not shown us how to write the code nessassary for the analysis!!!!! A lot of online help is needed to pass this course believe me.

por SIDDHARTHA P

24 de abr. de 2020

Quite badly prepared course. The final exam assignment was challenging but unfortunately the methods etc to arrive at the solutions were not discussed in the main lecture of the course. It needs lot of working so that the focus should be given on learning rather than arbitrarily increasing the toughness level for the exam.

por Dave S

20 de abr. de 2020

The assignments can be difficult with little guidance on the best approach to take and not to much activity on the forums. The questions can be difficult because of the formatting used and the way python uses format to decide program flow. The final exam takes considerably longer than the rest of the course

por Pierre d M

18 de ago. de 2022

This is mostly a Python course rather than a Data Science class. The Module 1 is the only one that I considered useful for my profile (Already familiar with Python) as I was trying to learn more about the specifics of doing DS in the Genomics field.

por Aditi D

7 de jul. de 2020

This course teaches you basics only, but when the questions are asked in the quiz they are no where related to what has been taught, and the level of difficulty of those questions is really high.

por Benson N M

17 de jun. de 2016

I think someone who has never coded before can approach this course. However, further reading of the resources presented will augment what has been taught and to better handle the quizzes.

por Antoon L

11 de ene. de 2017

A good introduction to Python, but the course is a rather short & I think more could have been said about genomics-specific functions, modules, etc. and how to use them.

por Priscilla C

13 de abr. de 2017

I didn't know anything about programming and needed a lot of help with this course. I would have like more help in getting python and its complements install. Thanks.

por SARKAFT G O

8 de ago. de 2020

i have difficulty to understand the last week but in general , the course, is a first step to learn more about python and need more to apply it on genomic.

por Rami B

2 de may. de 2020

Methods of assessment were far more difficult than lectures. However, the course does cover an appropriate overview of python in genomic data science.

por Prathana S

2 de jul. de 2020

Being new to Python it was quite difficult to me learning this. Also questions for quiz were quite hard as compared to examples shown in the video

por Vanessa

23 de nov. de 2020

Good teachers and well explained. Very interesting. I would have preferred to be followed by a tutor to have some explanations.

Thank you