Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,705 calificaciones
405 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD
25 de mar. de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

JK
8 de ene. de 2021

I personally have very limited coding skills. this course was able to build my funadmentals in both math and science while understanding more of the bridge between the two. Very thankful for it.

Filtrar por:

276 - 300 de 398 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Praveen K R

19 de oct. de 2018

The course is structured well but we need more explanation for the last week lecture. And more topics inside logic section. The assignment had really helped me in understanding the course.

Thank You

por Kristen P

27 de ene. de 2020

I applaud the instructors for their efforts in explaining the concepts as they could be abstract and hard to explain in words! More examples to illustrate the concepts will be even more helpful!

por Gavesh J

30 de nov. de 2020

The course is good made me think logically, good as a starting course start fast-finish fast and there you have the warm-up, though you need some knowledge of python for completing this course

por Md. H H S B

26 de abr. de 2019

Contents are very good for starting.....

But the Teachers way of explaining is not up to the mark. I need to search in youTube or google for understanding any topic even watching the videos.

por Karan S

14 de abr. de 2020

though i stuck somewhere but mentors was always there to assist you. really found this course interesting and very helpful. solved so much of tricky puzzles, Good course

por ANGELO J C A

3 de nov. de 2020

The knowledge is guaranteed¡, this course will train the ability of solving problems using algorithms, also it teaches you how to "translate" problems to mathematics.

por Kharissa F S

5 de jun. de 2019

I loved the puzzles! Very interactive and made the course more enjoyable. Would love to see more puzzles as they can help reinforce the ideas explained in the course.

por Mohta R S

28 de jun. de 2020

Great course gives you an algorithmic touch Do this specialization before doing the DSA specialisation

Get comfortable with python syntax before starting this.

por Shaun s

22 de may. de 2020

Alexander Chen gave a hard time in last week, but i liked how in his lectures there were numerous cunning pop ups which made it impossible to get distracted

por Andrea M

10 de abr. de 2020

Instructors are very knowledgeable and the lessons are usually helpful, but it's common for the explanations to contain errors or be unclear in some way.

por Dwija B

19 de jun. de 2020

The course was extremely helpful and easy to follow. The inclusion of interactive puzzles made the course more interesting and urged me to learn more.

por Toral S

27 de abr. de 2020

The course contents were excellent, well designed. But towards the end of the course, things became confusing. Reviewing videos did not help.

por Jiahan X

8 de nov. de 2020

Overall it is good. The courses in the last week, however, are not connected well with the quiz and thus the quiz is very challenging

por Phani S

20 de may. de 2020

Lectures have a piece of great knowledge about the subject but they lack a bit to explain it fluently.

Great course though. Enjoyed

por Ritoja S

11 de nov. de 2020

I feel like the last week was a bit too hectic, as compared to the rest of the course. It could stand to be more explanatory.

por Marco F

17 de oct. de 2019

It felt more like learning how to do puzzles rather than learning math. But maybe that was the objective and I didn't get it!

por Andres M

5 de ene. de 2021

Really nice course. The four stars are due to the time taking by the teaching staff to reply to the questions in the forum.

por Aniket K

6 de jul. de 2020

The course was awesome. I learnt and enjoyed it. Should provide the hints/solutions for algorithm problems in the quizes.

por Shubh B

4 de may. de 2020

The accent posed a problem in understanding the content. Otherwise, all the content and materials were superb.

por Jesse A C

17 de may. de 2019

Solid course. Lectures were sometimes jumbled and hard to understand, but overall it was well put-together.

por Loc N

31 de dic. de 2020

The most important part of the course (implementing a solution to the Puzzle 15) is not explained well :(

por 7220 B V M

18 de jun. de 2020

It's very good course builds problem solving skills exiting and interesting quizzes enjoyed the journey..

por Sriram R

24 de mar. de 2018

Simple explanations made math more easy to handle. Thanks to the prof's for timely responses in Forums.

por Adnan M

16 de abr. de 2019

The course encourage you to start thinking, it's easy but can be first step towards thinking. :)

por Karan S

27 de jul. de 2020

Overall the course was great! But, last section on permutations could've been explained better.