Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,993 calificaciones
462 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD
25 de mar. de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
27 de feb. de 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filtrar por:

301 - 325 de 457 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Ali S

28 de jun. de 2020

A good introduction to people who are new to CS and want to get the basics right. The puzzles and quizzes are quite well designed, fun and with just the right amount of challenge most of the time. On the downside, it is a bit hard to follow some of the lecturers due to their communication styles. On the whole, a recommended course

por Mingzhe H

26 de sep. de 2019

There are many funny puzzles in this course.But i think the diffcult so low.assume you don't know how to proof it,you also can use force to find the answer.the knowledge of this course so wide,but not deep.of course the team are very hard,i wish you can continue to push out more course to improve us,Thanks for your efforts.

por PREMDEEP A

29 de may. de 2018

This course mostly deals with mathematical puzzles. I had fun solving those puzzles. But what I was really concerned about was the explanation part. Some of the explanations are sometimes really hard to grasp. Apart from that it is a nice course. I hope they will make clear explanations in future.

por Sudheera S

29 de ago. de 2018

I like the new title "Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science" rather than "What is a proof?". Good course for beginners of the subject discrete mathematics. It really does what the title says. It helps improve your mathematical thinking and prepares you for computer science studies.

por Mariam M

20 de ago. de 2020

It is really good to start, very easy to digest and flows naturally. The only thing I have issues with is that programming is not my strong suit so it gets very hard for me to accomplish the programming tasks, and it took me a lot of time and a lot of stackoverflow searches.

por UMANG T

31 de jul. de 2020

The course went faster in some places but was excellent otherwise. The methodology of solving puzzles before a lecture is what I loved the most and that is probably the best part of the course. Looking forward to taking up other courses in the Specialization.

por Akib A F

4 de ago. de 2021

At first, it was a bit difficult to grasp the content but once the material was learned and internalized, the reward wass substantial. The puzzles are really fun to solve and had certainly contributed to the development of my problem solving ability.

por Seif A

17 de abr. de 2020

Some parts are very hard to follow. I found week 6 the most challenging because I have a sort of weak logical thinking base. Also I believe it should have been explained more clearly because programming mathematical statements isn't so easy.

por Aarjav T

17 de ago. de 2020

It was a very engaging course presented in the most interactive way possible. The only problem I have is with the final week. The explanations seemed rush and not properly done. But other than that, I'd recommend this course to everyone.

por Raúl E G

28 de sep. de 2020

Teaching mathematics seems tough, the course is a good attempt, congratulations to the instructors. The reason I don't give maximum rate is that I found myself frequently re-framing big parts of the explanations in order to understand.

por Jasvin M

21 de may. de 2020

Professor Alexander Shen's way of teaching and passion was really fun to see and although there weren't as many particular algorithms and such to directly apply in Computer Science, it was a good starting point to the specialization.

por Karthikeyan G

20 de ago. de 2018

Good course.

I gave a 4-star instead of 5 just because of the pace of the lessons. felt it could be bit slower and with more examples, specially in sections related to logic(if-then-else, reductio ad absurdum & permutations & cycles).

por Abhinav K

17 de may. de 2020

The Interactive Puzzles are the way forward in such kind of Educational Platforms. Having some prior experience in Data structures and Algorithms , I was impressed by the relevance of the material discussed and the context provided.

por Ujjwal P 1

5 de jul. de 2020

Nice course however in the final weeks a more animated explanation would have made it perfect because a lot of text sometimes makes thing boring.. any way nice to learn new stuff also that 15-puzzle was the best of em' all

por Anton V

16 de jul. de 2020

Some of the logical explanations could have been better. One is sometimes left with the feeling that although the presented results are correct, the logical reasoning behind it is not sufficiently explained.

por Anushka G

5 de jul. de 2020

The course was great i just faced some difficulty in writting python codes( as i am a beginner in pyton) for the last few quizes,i just hoped that may be there could be some videos explaining such codes.

por DANIEL A

5 de nov. de 2020

Tiene muy buenos ejercicos para la introducción a las matemátcias, y los ejemplos son muy bien explicados, la parte que te hace programar en Pythton es de lo más interesante. Vale mucho el esfuerzo

por Praveen K R

19 de oct. de 2018

The course is structured well but we need more explanation for the last week lecture. And more topics inside logic section. The assignment had really helped me in understanding the course.

Thank You

por Kristen P

27 de ene. de 2020

I applaud the instructors for their efforts in explaining the concepts as they could be abstract and hard to explain in words! More examples to illustrate the concepts will be even more helpful!

por Gavesh J

30 de nov. de 2020

The course is good made me think logically, good as a starting course start fast-finish fast and there you have the warm-up, though you need some knowledge of python for completing this course

por Habib H S

26 de abr. de 2019

Contents are very good for starting.....

But the Teachers way of explaining is not up to the mark. I need to search in youTube or google for understanding any topic even watching the videos.

por RAKESH S

20 de sep. de 2021

The Lectures were pretty clear and concept oriented. Yet there were some topics which aren't much clear, but still the whole course is pretty well arranged and good in explaining

por Karan S

14 de abr. de 2020

though i stuck somewhere but mentors was always there to assist you. really found this course interesting and very helpful. solved so much of tricky puzzles, Good course

por ANGELO J C A

3 de nov. de 2020

The knowledge is guaranteed¡, this course will train the ability of solving problems using algorithms, also it teaches you how to "translate" problems to mathematics.

por Kharissa F S

5 de jun. de 2019

I loved the puzzles! Very interactive and made the course more enjoyable. Would love to see more puzzles as they can help reinforce the ideas explained in the course.