Chevron Left
Volver a Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Communication in the 21st Century Workplace por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.2
1,024 calificaciones
188 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

Principales revisiones

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

MM

Feb 01, 2016

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I specially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you may be have a great time"

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 187 revisiones para Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

por Lena L

Nov 11, 2017

The information is very good. However, the course is poorly put together.

Every week has a number of required reading links, some of which are broken or behind paywalls. Quizzes pull from those broken/paywalled links. The quiz questions themselves are poorly written, with it being unclear what answer is expected, and when you get the answers wrong, you get no feedback on what material to review to learn the answers. This is especially frustrating because it's one of those courses that gives you only one chance every 8 hours.

To make things worse, there are no discussion boards where you can get help, which I've never seen on Coursera.

If this course were better put together, I would give it five stars. As-is, it's extremely frustrating, which sucks because the rest of the specialization so far has been fantastic.

por Elaine W

Sep 25, 2018

This course is extremely content light, with quizzes that pick out very small points that frankly, don't make a lot of sense. Most of it was a waste of time.

por Tony S

Apr 22, 2016

Margaret Meloni was constantly looking down to read directly from a poorly-rehearsed script while trying to stumble through phrasing and lecture points. Considering this is a course about communication, this was very disappointing. The quizzes were vague and either didn't have clear correct answers or didn't feel applicable to the module to which it was assigned. After reviewing the material, I had to complete the quizzes by trial-and-error since the answers were not reflected in the lectures.

por Wesley K

Apr 19, 2016

Overly-remedial information, but that is not what earns this course such a poor evaluation from me. The poor evaluation comes from the composition of the review quizzes: The end-of-section quizzes ask questions to which there can be more than one correct answer, yet only a single response will receive credit.

Example: "A recommended solution to a problem is valued by an executive because..." Followed by four possible answers: One of which is clearly incorrect while one makes an awful assumption. These two choices can be eliminated easily. However, the final two options are BOTH UNARGUABLY CORRECT, but only one was briefly mentioned in the material (reading or video), and thus only that one receives credit.

Unfortunately, this demonstrates the course creators' desire to value a student's memorization of the instructor's own unique words over the student's assimilation of the course content and ideas.

Course-takers beware, this course seems more tailored to stroking Ms. Bravo's ego than to you actually learning anything of commercial value.

por Gabriel F G

Jan 12, 2019

Good and interesting material. Some presenters should improve their act and to look at the camera most of the time.

por Charudatta G

Feb 14, 2019

Excellent course. short and to the point and very practical. Thanks a lot.

por Mita k

Feb 09, 2019

Thanks for gives me opportunity to acquire the valuable communication way through this course

por Nguyễn H C

Mar 07, 2019

Excellent course.

por Duncan E O O

Mar 08, 2019

Skill sharpener

por Chandan P

Mar 28, 2019

Great course to understand Professional communication techniques

por Deepak P A R

Dec 26, 2018

Excellent

por Andrew C K B

Apr 10, 2019

Readings are practical and very detailed

por Daniel S

Jan 27, 2019

Some very useful tips here to make you take a step back and think.

por Joseph D

Apr 08, 2016

Wonderful.. loved it!

por R. A T

Sep 13, 2015

good tips

por Stephen R

Oct 08, 2015

So I went into this not so sure about it but it's actually a fun little course. The instructor is actually really entertaining and makes what could be a very dry and boring topic interesting to hear about.

por Gagandeep B

Jan 26, 2016

Nicely fine-tuned content -- relevant to multiple settings and spaces of work.

por Nicole G

Sep 17, 2015

I enjoyed this class and found the readings to be very helpful

por Pepper R

Aug 14, 2017

Great lessons, practical and logically presented.

por Ramon A R R

May 03, 2016

Awesome!

por Siddaram K

Apr 20, 2016

Thanks for the course. Clear and concise.

por Dong T

Oct 15, 2015

It very useful for me, i can apply knowledge in my workplace

por sahil b

Jan 06, 2016

Excellent

por Ari B S

Jun 14, 2016

Relevant Information, well documented and easy to understand !!!

por Suraj S

Oct 17, 2015

I really enjoyed this course.

Very good material and lots of hardwork from our tutor...