Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Forensic Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Forensic Science por parte de Universidad Tecnológica de Nanyang, Singapur

4.9
estrellas
1,731 calificaciones
550 reseña

Acerca del Curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Principales reseñas

AP
16 de abr. de 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.\n\nyou just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.\n\ni loved this

SF
12 de nov. de 2020

Thanks to Mr Roderick Wayland Bates for his simple and vivid explanation .....I liked his way of presentation... The course was really very useful and the case studies were thought provoking......

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 554 revisiones para Introduction to Forensic Science

por Ashwini P

11 de ago. de 2019

I enjoyed doing this course as it taught me a lot about the concepts of Forensic Science and how I can apply these concepts in my future career. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in Forensic Science.

por poojita A

14 de sep. de 2021

the simplest and most effective way to teach anyone all the basics of forensics. Includes all important factors in a crisp form, simple videos that even makes the hard stuff easy. I totally would recommend this to others.

por Kellie J

14 de sep. de 2021

I am in the process of switching careers from environmental geology to forensics. I found that a lot of what I know and have been doing is applicable to my new career field. This class was great at explaining concepts.

por Liza C

12 de nov. de 2016

An amazing course with plenty interesting information. I was personally astonished from the quality of the material. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in learning and loves to be challenged.

por Mesack C

6 de ago. de 2021

O cursos é maravilhoso, de fácil compreensão e muito estimulante. Apenas resta adicionar mais casos casos e de preferência atuais. Tento em conta a evolução da ciência e a tecnologia! Eu adorei aprender foi muito bom

por Suzanne M

19 de oct. de 2017

This course was very informative and well laid out across the different modules. The case studies included in the material were very interesting. The instructor was easy to listen to and has a great sense of humor.

por Jason W

1 de ago. de 2021

Great course, a lot of awesome and useful information,. Mr. Bates is great at explaining information! Peer review assignments may take a day or 2 to get a full grade but overall great course with lots of information

por Nivedita S S

28 de feb. de 2018

great course work.

great case studies that make you think.

very good course design.

i hope there is an intermediate or an advanced course in future relating to field of forensics,

Thanking the entire team of University.

por K S L N M

30 de sep. de 2020

I am very happy to be able to do this course. I always wanted to do forensic but because of some reason could not do it. Very well explained with good materials. So happy to be part of this. Learned many things

por AnGeLiCa I

5 de jul. de 2021

Thank you so much! I learned a lot and this course fulfilled my wish of knowing what it's like to work in Forensics! A lot more to learn and I truly admire the dedication and hard work of Forensic Scientists!

por Joleen N

5 de may. de 2020

One of the most interesting course on Coursera. Very detailed and technical. The professor did an excellent job in conveying the lecture in the most comprehensive way. The case studies were very intriguing.

por Jasmit D

12 de may. de 2020

This course was an excellent opportunity for me to step out of my comfort zone and learn something new. The entire course was well planned and interesting throughout. I would highly recommend this course.

por Taxiarchis A

14 de feb. de 2021

I get that different languages might still be in development but,

At least for the English subtitles, there shouldn't be any errors.

A suggestion: The max rating should be 10 and not 5 for more clarity.

por Pramodini P

16 de nov. de 2020

Such a wonderful and useful course. Loved the teaching and the peer graded assignments. Thank you sir for making us love the subject with your splendid teaching and giving us such a fantastic experience.

por Ángel M A

15 de abr. de 2018

Voy a escribir en Español, aunque entendiendo y hablo inglés perfectamente. Este curso es excelente. No es básico, diría nivel medio, yo estudio bioquímica y biología molecular y es de lo más divertido.

por Kim W

3 de jun. de 2021

​This course was very interesting. It covered different forensic science components in a very methodical way and interspersed cases studies to illustrate the techniques and give real world examples.

por Saúl V H

15 de oct. de 2020

It is a very interesting course, ideal for introducing us to the fascinating world of forensic sciences, I hope to continue related studies, and continue to grow in knowledge and application thereof.

por Delon P

22 de ene. de 2022

Its a great course, i have learnt alot about forensic science and i am thinking of pursuing this career. Mr.Roderick Bates is a great Instructor and i wish i can do my Diploma and Degree with him.

por Norfadilah G

7 de jun. de 2021

T​his course provided a good foundation to kick start your understanding and knowledge of forensics science. Uses alot of case studies to help you understand better and relating to the course

por Dilara T

26 de dic. de 2020

I totally have learned a lot of things from that course. I believe the instructor does his job very well. As a Chemistry student, that course was really beneficial for me. Thank you so much!

por Michelle Z

28 de jul. de 2020

An interesting course which debunks all the false portrayal of forensic science in TV shows. It's interesting to find out how stuff really works and how it is compared to what we see on TV.

por Laure G

11 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course. Excellent content, with relevant examples to support the theory and a good pace. I could see applications in forensic medicine from my biology and instrumentation courses.

por Ramya M

14 de may. de 2021

Beautiful... The Lecture and the cases were awesome. Dr.Rodreick Bates was so clear and a lot of hardwork has gone into this course preparation. It was an absolutely interesting course.

por Ana K Z R

23 de ago. de 2020

This course is very complete about different and important topics about the forensics scientist, I love the week about the toxicology. Congratulations for the good work in these topics.

por Anushka R

29 de may. de 2020

I learned a lot of things about forensic science and techniques used in forensic science. It was a great opportunity and I thank Nanyang Technological University and Coursera for this.