Chevron Left
Volver a How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course) por parte de École Polytechnique

4.6
estrellas
1,866 calificaciones
696 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What you will achieve: In this project-based course, you will outline a complete scientific paper, choose an appropriate journal to which you'll submit the finished paper for publication, and prepare a checklist that will allow you to independently judge whether your paper is ready to submit. What you'll need to get started: This course is designed for students who have previous experience with academic research - you should be eager to adapt our writing and publishing advice to an existing personal project. If you just finished your graduate dissertation, just began your PhD, or are at a different stage of your academic journey or career and just want to publish your work, this course is for you. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-Centered Courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Principales reseñas

SM

Apr 12, 2020

The content was very good and explanation was excellent just there was a slight problem with instructors accent but don't worry you will get used to it no time but the course is excellent and helpful

SM

Jun 21, 2020

It was really helpful to me, I hope it will be useful to all researchers who are intensively working for publishing papers in journals. I thank all course instructors who handled the video sessions.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 692 revisiones para How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

por Ki N Y

Jul 04, 2016

It might have been a better option to conduct the class in the instructors' mother tongue with English subtitles, though concepts are well enough communicated. I am a Francophone and I still find it not easy to understand the English (having French translation in my mind.)

A good introductory class to have a first glimpse at the general context of academic publishing. Good general overview to rethink the steps of publishing plans for early stage researchers.

por Deleted A

Feb 16, 2019

The lecturers cannot pronounce some words correctly. We can only understand them by subtitle.

por Lucília N B

Dec 26, 2018

Abordagem superficial. Eu esperava que os temas fossem trabalhados com maior profundidade.

por George C M F

Apr 10, 2019

Good course - light and instructive.

por Elena F G

Apr 20, 2020

El curso en sí es para personas principiantes donde te dan información básica. No me ha gustado mucho que algunas tareas tengan que ser corregidas por otras personas que se apuntan al curso y no por los encargados en sí del curso, así como algunos artículos o información complementaria. Si estás empezando este es tu curso, pero si ya se tiene un poco de idea se queda bastante corto.

por Miren B

Mar 10, 2016

I find this to be very very basic advice on how to write a scientific paper. I can't even see where the "project" is coming, plus the strong accent of instructors makes it really hard to follow sometimes -- even with the subtitles. To make things even better, accessing the quizzes is imposible unless you pay for the certificate. I found the course disappointing.

por Nguyen H S

May 30, 2016

The contains of the course is not really enough for improve the writing skill for scientific paper. Those advices mention in the video is common and that's it. No more practice or example to help the learner understand or apply that concept to their writing.

por IHAB A

Sep 13, 2019

English of instructors wasn't very good.

I was expecting more info. and teaching methods on how to realy write and about plagiarism(styles like Harvard style, APA, etc....)

por Haris O

Mar 01, 2017

This course is rather superficial, it sadly did not provide practical tips that go beyond common sense.

por Cícero H P S

Sep 20, 2017

O curso não foi feito para pessoas que não dominam a língua inglesa, de modo que foi bastante dificultoso cumprir algumas tarefas. Também devo acrescer que imaginei um outro tipo de curso, vez que sequer faço doutorado, ou seja, o curso não foi feito para mim. Nada tenho a reclamar das vídeo-aulas, mas estes pontos acima tratados me desapontaram. Talvez tenha sido uma falha minha não pesquisar acerca do curso antes de iniciá-lo, mas, de toda forma, as críticas quanto a não ser um curso para pessoas que não dominam o inglês se mantêm.

por Furkhan

Jun 24, 2016

It is a great effort to try to explain writing an academic paper. I appreciate it. And unfortunately, these guys have an awful English accent. It is almost impossible to understand. Moreover, their sentences are so long and complicated that makes it impossible to get it. Nice try but it doesn't work :(

Best regards,

Dr. Furkan

por Marcel F

Apr 03, 2018

Extremely hard to understand --sounds like a parody straight out of the Pink Panther movies--, unbearable to follow...

por Lode D W

Jan 04, 2017

Most video's are spoken in a sort of 'Franglais' that is barely understandable, very annoying.

por Ashish K

Jul 11, 2017

there are no tools that has given to check plagiarism of documents.

por Mercede E

Sep 13, 2016

Not professional at all!

por Hossein S

Dec 09, 2016

Not what expected ...

por Muneera a

Aug 24, 2017

it's unclear english

por Leila ل O

May 16, 2020

Many thanks to the Course Team.

The content, as well as the presentations, were rigorous.

The course was very beneficial to me.

Now, I've my Personalized Research Paper Writing Checklist. This tool may help me take a step back on my work, in an organized way. This could help me categorize more precisely what I have to check in terms of form and content when writing a paper. I built it based on the sequences developed in the course and adapted it to my domain interest. It will also be the tool to use for a process reviewing.

I appreciated the two assignments (Abstract and Checklist) in their two aspects: elaboration and pee-reviewing.

I appreciated a lot the methodology with which the content was delivered. Knowing that the process is iterative, I congratulate the course team on the choice of sequencing adopted ".

Good continuation.

Best regards, Leila.

por Nina

Aug 24, 2020

The course is well structured and covers all of the most important criteria for research paper writing. Including a peer-review checklist is an excellent idea because at the end of the course you are left with the perfect outline to begin writing your own research papers. One issue I faced, however, was that somebody plagiarised my whole checklist shortly after they reviewed it. They gave me 100 points in the peer review and then copy-pasted my entire checklist exactly as it was into their own document and submitted it as their own. They did not even change the wording or formatting. I am not sure how this can be avoided in the future, but I hope nobody else does this as I put in several hours of work into my checklist and do not appreciate somebody else taking credit for it.

por Rabail Q

Jul 26, 2020

This was an excellent course for someone who is a novice researcher. Even though I have a few publications under my belt I still found this course useful. The course is very systematic and makes hard concepts simple. The assignments are well-designed. Though the element of peer-review of assignments can be tricky (you have to rely on someone else's understanding to pass the course), I appreciate the spirit behind it (which can be misused). Overall, I would highly recommend this course. I would suggest it will be great if you do this course if you have a working paper. I was working on one and I could immediately apply what I was learning on that paper. This course helped me review my own work.

por Reza G I

May 09, 2020

The course is basic but can really help researcher to start writing their paper. It also delve into the world of publishing and give insight from both researcher and editor point of view. While some of you might already taken other class or course about academic writing, there will always be something new to learn about and I can say that this course also offers it. Slight negative review on this course is related to the presenter's heavy accent and English subtitle that sometimes does not match the presenter's word

por Filianti

Apr 13, 2020

Hello, I am Filianti and everyone can call me Fili. I am from Indonesia and just finished my bachelor degree on education.

I am so falling in love with this course, because I got a lots new knowledge from this course. The course is so interesting too, we persue to do some works that we have to do when we write the real paper. And below is my final work, I hope I can get positive feedback from my peers. Please don’t be hestitate to correct my this final work, if you don’t mind.

por Vigneshwaran J

Jul 17, 2020

The course is elaborate and gives a great insight into the world of research and research paper writing. After taking this course and completing the assignments,I feel confident of my abilities to write a scientific paper. I started as beginner with no knowledge of the processes involved in research paper writing, but ended up having a holistic idea of the field. The peer reviewed assignments and peer reviewing of other learners' assignments was a great way to learn.

por Syed F A

Jun 15, 2020

From better understanding Academia to creating my own checklist, this has been a wonderful journey of learning, thinking and applying.Though there is a lot gained from the MOOC on "How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper" by École Polytechnique and Coursera, this one equation is there in a separate corner of my head-Valid+Reliable+Rigorous=ScientificThanks to Prof. Mathis Plapp and all the PHD students for your sublime guidance and indispensable mentorship.

por Ghazfa J

Jul 18, 2017

Well first of all I would like to thanks all the people who are behind the creation, construction, idea and editing of this course. Heads of to your hard work. You people really did an amazing job. This course is best if you are in the search of question related to the start of writing till all the steps requires for publishing. This course has cleared my mind from all the questions I had for publishing my paper, I highly recommend this course. Thank you.