Chevron Left
Volver a Using Databases with Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Using Databases with Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
20,406 calificaciones
3,125 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Aspectos destacados
High quality course material

(143 reseñas)

Top rated instructor

(176 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

MM

12 de mar. de 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

13 de ene. de 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filtrar por:

2526 - 2550 de 3,045 revisiones para Using Databases with Python

por Iman v A

12 de nov. de 2018

I thought it was very informative, but felt the assignments lacked challenge. I never spent more than 15 minutes on them because 80+ % of the code was already provided and you basically only had to fill in the blanks.

por Jaison A

18 de dic. de 2016

Solid foundational database concepts in Python if you're looking to learn the basics or brush up on fundamentals. However, if you're looking for more advanced topics, you might want to look at more advanced classes.

por Zenil S

9 de mar. de 2018

Get to learn basics of SQL in this course.A good chunk of code to be used in assignments is explained before in lectures, so you solve a similar if not same problem in the assignment which is shown in the lecture.

por Subha M G

2 de mar. de 2018

Having done other courses in the specialization, I found that the lectures of Week 4 and Week 5 involved very less modification to the existing code, thereby reducing the ability to try out coding on one's own.

por Todd S

15 de dic. de 2015

Another great class that covers a lot of information that builds nicely on the preceding classes. I would like to see an additional Exercises per topic that more complex. Maybe add an extra credit or bonus one.

por YANG J

9 de jul. de 2020

Highly recommendable and instructive. Yet the content of this course is a bit introductive so that I haven't learned that much SQL and database skills using Python. Though, it is very suitable for beginners.

por Hung-Chia Y

16 de mar. de 2018

Towards the end of the course, the code starts getting a lot complex. Even though Dr. Severance said not to worry about a lot of them, I don't feel I understand the material as fully as the previous courses.

por Rony A

7 de ago. de 2017

The course was interesting and broad in teaching SQL and its use in handling simple and complex databases. What I missed though, was more emphasis and hands-on exercises on the use of SQL in Python scripts.

por Ologia E G F

8 de sep. de 2020

A very challenging, fun and useful course. Things come together as we learn how to incorporate what we've previously learned as well as a deeper understanding of the terms we've been using in course 3.

por Георгий Ф

11 de oct. de 2017

This course is extremely simple and it is not very good. To become a better programmer you have to write a lot of code. Theory is helpful too, but practice is much more needed. More practice, please...

por Richard E A M

5 de mar. de 2017

I know that Dr. Chuck mentioned that he can't cover everything about databases and SQL. But I felt that the content could have been a bit more informative.

Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck and the teaching staff.

por Brent T

1 de feb. de 2020

Course is worthwhile taking and Dr. Severance is engaging in the videos. People new to Python should read book chapters prior to viewing videos so as to familiarize themselves with the subject matter.

por Sean Q Z

11 de sep. de 2016

I hope this can be a little bit more challenge. All the assignments are easy to be finished, some of them can be done within minutes. Comparing with JHU's R programming, that can be too hard, though.

por Junaid S

23 de oct. de 2020

It teaches about the basic concepts of databases and how to use them (sqlite3) with python.

Considering that databases are used in almost every application, the course needed to provide more details.

por Rethek K

6 de may. de 2020

A little more hands on practice on python and writing our own logic and code would've been better. Other than that this course is perfect, has great content and instructor, totally enjoyed it.

por Ashok K

8 de oct. de 2019

The course is very useful for beginners like me. I have gained good knowledge in python through these courses. Way of teaching and presenting the concept is very good and impressed me a lot.

por Weihe W

8 de ago. de 2019

The assignments are too simple. Not even in real world, in pet open source projects, you have to explore so many things and after taking this course you are definitely not ready for that.

por Gustavo B R C

20 de ene. de 2016

The Professor is amazing, with a great sense of humor. But, I felt that the last three assigments were rather easy, given the fact that the code was almost all produced by the Professor.

por Mourad t

7 de mar. de 2021

useful and easy to learn content, this course was the smoothest for me between the 5 courses.

there is one thing I would change witch is the difficulty of the final (peer) assignment.

por Gregory S

15 de may. de 2019

The data modeling parts were not totally accurate bu other than that I loved the course. It will be essential in my job to use Python to interact with databases so this was awesome!

por Vaybhav S

2 de mar. de 2017

All the chapters have been well explained. However, the last chapter was a bit vague and needed deeper insight; especially the code used for data visualisation.

Thanks Dr. Chuck!!!

por Dimitry R

18 de jul. de 2019

A good and comprehencive course on creating databases. However, imho it lacks the information on creating a simple user interface of a database. This topic is not covered at all.

por Dawood k a

26 de sep. de 2020

why there is no Arabic subtitle. At least don't show that the is.

need more to explain other tools in sql.

but this was a very good course of how to use python to build a database

por Caroline

8 de nov. de 2019

Very good introduction to databases and SQL. I would have liked a different week 5 assignment and a deeper explanation of the more difficult python codes, such as geodump.py.

por Chris C

17 de dic. de 2021

Super helpful course once again from Dr. Chuck! Bit frustrated when some code were left unexplained, but that's understandable given the introductory nature of this course.