Chevron Left
Volver a Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.0
estrellas
1,664 calificaciones
408 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Principales reseñas

PM
23 de jun. de 2020

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF
1 de abr. de 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 408 revisiones para Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

por Gerson R

10 de sep. de 2020

The first 4 courses were like really good, awesome actually. The problem is the 5th one. I think it was a mess due to the following reasons:

-There were uncorrected mistakes that seemed to be there for like several months or even a year without solving.

-The submission system for the final project was a nightmare and the Notepad++ solution they gave us was not working at all (I saw other students complaining about this in the forums). I had to copy my code several lines at a time to ensure that it would not lose formatting and checking that it had the correct indentation at each moment. Even then, after ensuring that everything was alright and seeing my own submission, there were some lines that were not formatted correctly even if I did input them correctly. I had to put a disclaimer to say that it was not my fault if the indentation was not the correct one. This situation has been going on for months and action has not been taken. This is unacceptable.

-We were required to execute someone else's code for review in our own environment. I could only copy and paste another fellow student's code for review when using Microsoft Edge (Chrome and Firefox did not do the trick).

-The staff moderating the forums was not really helpful. I asked about how to download a file that could not be download through the environment, but he would not say that the pinned posts in the forum were intended to help. Normally you do not expect to have that many errors in your course material, so it is normal to NOT expect that many tips to be available in the forums.

-Each iteration of the code is like really low execute. The instructor claims that the big file in the final assignment took like 10 minutes to process, but that is far from reality. This leads to my next point.

-The theoretical contents have not been clear and useful. We were told that certain things could be done to improve processing of the image, but none of it seemed to actually make anything better. For instance, when we applied the bounding boxes to the OCR, it did not seem to actually improve anything. What is more, it made OCR to work worse.

-One of the parameters that were needed to make the pyteseract module correctly was not explained during the course. I would get really bad results over and over until I found one of the parameters and set it to a reasonable value. Even if the course is based on kraken, pyteseract and OpenCV, it is maybe a bit ambitious to expect the student to try and use those parameters, one of them without even mentioning it in the lectures. It would be understandable if the material provided was much faster to compute, but exploring two parameters, each with its own set of values is a really time consuming process.

-It feels like most of the content in the lectures is junk and only 10% of that is really useful in the assigment. The other 90% actually makes things worse (as I said previously some recommended techniques did not work) and is presented in a convoluted way. I had this sensation many times during my university years, were the classes would be totally disconnected from the exam and with real practice. You feel like the lectures have been a total loss of time. I consider this bad teaching practice. I expected more from a university in the USA.

por Samanth N

4 de oct. de 2020

The previous 4 courses were so much fun solely due to how the assignments were structured. This assignment however was filled with so many issues along the way. Firstly, computing image data takes a considerable amount of time, throw in face recognition modules like opencv and it becomes even harder. I have a few things I liked and did not like about this particular course:

What I liked:

1) The fact that the week 1 assignment was so intuitive and yet challenging actually kept me hooked on to this course and finish this specialization.

2) There are a lot of real-world applications with the content shared in this course. This happens to be the most (at least for me) practical course in the entire mega course for python.

3) This course offered a fairly good amount of interaction with the Jupyter notebooks.

What I don't like:

1) The week 1 assignment was actually fun and challenging at the same time but, the hints provided for this assignment were little to no help. I'm sure there are better ways to make students read the docs more but, this shouldn't be one of those methods.

2) The week 3 assignment was probably the most annoying assignment of this entire course. The assignment looks fairly easy but, the entire code takes over 20 minutes just to execute. This can be a real issue when you're dealing with experimenting with images and image data.

3) The files for this assignment were not readily available for use. I found out that they had the assets up for download in a separate thread which was not even pinned when it is so important.

4) The notebook was taking so damn long that I decided to install Jupyter and work on my local machine with those files. This was a great improvement over the Coursera Jupyter notebook, though the video guide on how to install and setup Jupyter is outdated.

5) After spending a ridiculous amount of time coding this assignment, when the time came for submission, it was an even bigger pain. The assignment requires you to post the code to a text field but, this text fields removes and destroys all the indenting and formatting. I spent hours on end trying to format it correctly before restoring to uploading my code to online codeshare platforms like GitHub.

6) The review process is even more difficult. You would have to run the peer's code and cross-examine their results. This was a huge pain since running the code can take anywhere from 20 - 40 minutes to complete.

I hope the team takes this feedback constructively and uses the above-mentioned points to help improve upon those aspects.

por Daniela R L

23 de feb. de 2021

I agree with everyone else, this course is not related to the others on this specialization. The instructions and the material are not very clear and I read a lot comments of students asking questions and the instructors were replying in a 'annoyed' way and deleting parts of code of desperate students trying to finish the class...

por Matthew G

9 de mar. de 2021

This course was a big disappointment. The subject matter is great but the level of 'instruction' is totally lacking. This course took a big turn away from the rest of the series in that the other used very good pedagogy and this course felt like they spent hours preparing it.

por Colm D

20 de may. de 2020

A poor finish to an excellent specialisation. The first four modules were very helpful, this seemed fine till I got to the first assignment. The "hints" are woeful in terms of usefulness. I do not have time to decdicate to additional research for what feels like an arbitrary add on to a specialisation I would love to have completed. Nothing undermines the condfidence built up in the previous modules than making you feel like you know nothing in the last module.

por Alex E

30 de abr. de 2020

With all due respect this is the worst course I have taken in any online learning platforms. The "teaching" was abysmal if it could even be described as teaching. It's so disappointing considering the other four courses in the specialization were amazing and enjoyable. The only motivation I had for completing this course was for the certificate, whereas the motivation I had for the other courses was to learn.

por Katarina P

22 de may. de 2020

If you value your time, don't take this course. The course platform is online Jupyter Notebook which doesn't work most of the time. Also most of the examples are seriously outdated, there are more modern and smarter ways of doing them. The assignments are really frustrating because of the shitty platform and also from lack of good instructions due to the poor educational value of the lectures.

por Garima M

1 de nov. de 2020

Not satisfied with this this course at all. It does not seem like any effort was made to make enough material for the students to understand the concepts, I will not recommend this to anyone, more can be learned just be googling about the topics, how does this course benefit the students who sign up for it is the question.

por Praveen K

21 de jun. de 2020

I felt the previous four courses lack programming opportunities. Gladly, this course tries to make up for this shortcoming. I think this course is a little bit challenging than the previous courses but not that difficult. If you have really grasped the concepts then the assignments will not be that hard. Please be a learner who loves to explore things. There will be a few Python libraries introduced in this course and those libraries do magic. It was great fun to use them and see their real-life usages. don't just stop exploring those libraries after the completion of the keystone project assignment. Thanks to all the instructors for this brilliant course and my special heartfelt thanks to the indefatigable teaching staff who always replied to queries in the discussion forums.

por Steven C S

5 de jul. de 2020

I thought it was a great course. It takes what you learn in the first 4 courses and forces you to dig for API information and how to use it. It was quite difficult and frustrating, just like learning how to learn/apply new concepts. It forces you to think as you discover what you don't know. There is no spoon feeding bits of information or code samples that you just tweak to make work. It is like being thrown in the deep end of a pool full of piranhas. When you finish you realize that you really learned something. Highly recommend the class.

por Nadim F

3 de jun. de 2019

A better way to submit the code for the last project is needed.

por Chris P

7 de mar. de 2021

Didn't seem to match the style of the rest of the specialization

por Liam A

14 de mar. de 2020

Not a good course. The lectures are not well organized and don't give sufficient information or a structured understanding of the material (PIL, PyTesseract and OpenCV). The course is also too short for the amount of material it needs to cover. The assignment and capstone project give very poor guidance for the solution, and a lot of trial and error is needed (which is not instructive or educational).

por Pablo T P

26 de jun. de 2020

Very disappointed with this course. They assume you can spend a lot of time learning image manipulation libraries. Personally I have limited time and no interest in image processing.

After going through the previous courses in the specialization I'm not going to complete it.

I think they should offer other options for the final project.

por Chilakala V

19 de dic. de 2019

I understand that the course aims to force the learners to take a more real-world approach. However, this gets quite cumbersome and I saw myself lost at many places without any clue. At least offer a final go-to place when everything seems confusing. This will also ensure that no one will give up halfway.

por James M S

2 de abr. de 2020

Unfortunately, the assignment is too hard to work on with the Coursera notebook and the submission of the project is very hard to peer review. Most of us have to copy paste then add the newline (as if we are coding other person's work)

por Bart M

13 de abr. de 2020

Great specialization, but the final course project was poorly constructed and tedious.

por Yin L H

23 de jun. de 2020

The lecture time for this course is too short. You have to learn a lot by yourself.

por Rameses

24 de jul. de 2021

In my opinion, this ranks as one of the most abysmal courses I have taken either online or in person. Not because of the course content which is highly interesting and a final assignment which is very challenging but the way the course was conducted, spearheaded by an inept instructor and an apathetic staff support assistant. Plus its disjointed placement as the last course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization

This is the culmination course in the Python3 Programming Specialization and has very little connection to the previous four courses which were taught by instructors who were enthusiastic, empathetic and incredibly good at delivering the lecture content supplemented with great assignments and an excellent interactive textbook. After you complete the first four courses in this specialization and you think you are reaching the finish line, you get sprayed with a blast of shotgun fire in this last course. In this last course we have an instructor whose idea of pedagogy is presenting a set of code and content in Jupyter notebooks and parroting those notes. And you have a staff member who, instead of giving encouragement to students and responding to their questions responds with statistics on how many times a question has been answered and rambles on around the original question without directly answering the question.

The final project is a total disaster and not one worthy of being included in an MOOC. There are multiple bugs in the instructions, no help from any source. This is the type of project that should be given to students attending Go Blue in person with supporting resources such as Grad Assistant tutors and the instructor himself. Instead we are told what packages to import and then do everything ourselves. The first four courses do not prepare you for this poor excuse for a final course.

I have decades of programming experience both as a faculty member and a lifelong student and I was therefore able to complete the programming assignment which is replete with coding and execution problems. The execution times are enormous – anywhere from 15+  minutes for a single run which means that debugging is a nuisance.

In my humble and honest opinion, this course appears to be included in this specialization to enable the course instructor the opportunity to get some enrollment and earn some bucks from the hapless students who have completed the first four courses and feel it incumbent to complete the specialization. If it were a stand-alone course, I doubt he would have many takers. Computer Vision and Recognition are specialized areas. This is a course that needs to be under the umbrella of another specialization. It is not meant for learners who start the specialization with no prior or little programming experience as stated at the time of start of the specialization.

On another matter, when I was peer-grading the assignments, I found that 90+% of the submissions were plagiarized code which I flagged. Out of the 15 assignments I attempted to peer-grade I found only two that had original content. Never, in any online course have I encountered such numbers. This clearly indicates that the students were desperate to complete the specialization and resorted to submitting plagiarized code. The faculty at UM should discuss this more fundamental problem and ask themselves why such a situation is prevalent. No one connected with this course seems to give a damn about this.

This course is a dismal mark to an otherwise elite university and its great faculty and a revelation on how terrible an instructor and his pedagogy can be. It is a travesty to the thousands of students, some from poor countries, who have enrolled in this specialization and paid fees with their hard-earned money.

por Nakisha R B W

6 de oct. de 2020

The course is horrible. I got all the way to this course and couldn't complete it due to awful videos on installations and the project itsef is dumb. This class should be optional and anyone who completed the first 4 courses should get the specialization certificate.

por Paul B

26 de may. de 2020

Awful instruction and project planning leaves a bad taste in my mouth after 4 great courses in this specialization.

por Shikhar S

16 de ene. de 2021

If You want to learn OpenCV go with youtube tutorials

por Tobias S

2 de mar. de 2021

very poor to non existent didactic methods

por Shane N

25 de jun. de 2021

This course is actually not too bad, except that it can be quite strenuous to debug the code for the final project when it is slow to run certain third party library functions.

I​t is certainly challenging, given that the first four courses in this specialization might have spoiled you with detailed instruction and easy assessment tasks. But don't forget that this course is flagged as 'intermediate level' instead for 'beginner's level' (frankly, the fourth course, which is also flagged as 'intermediate', is not up to the mark in comparison with other 'intermediate' courses on Coursera -- it should have been flagged as 'beginner'). That being said, if I were the instructor, I might want to smooth the learning curve though. I found a lot of negative comments in the comment section before I actually took the course, so I was a little bit worried. But in general, I did learn a lot from this course and enjoy the process of tackling the challenging final project. Therefore, I reckon it is a useful and inspiring course if you do actually invest time in it. Good luck!

por Deleted A

29 de nov. de 2020

This course sucked at first because I didn't know my a**e from my elbow, but it's the same as anything else, you're expected to be ausonomous, inquisitive, and open to research outside of the course. It entailed a lot of digging around the web (considering my program building skill - or lack thereof -) and learning 90% of the info I needed on my own, but it's definitely worhtwhile as this is par for the course in the real world. All-in-all, a good course & definitely the steep learning curve you'll / I need to kickstart the ability required to design, create and implement Python programs. I'd strongly suggest asking Stephen Catto for his LinkedIn handle as well :-D Cheers.