Chevron Left
Volver a Grammar and Punctuation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Grammar and Punctuation por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.7
estrellas
15,350 calificaciones
4,716 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Principales reseñas

OI

Jul 03, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

KW

Oct 21, 2020

I have learned a lot of grammar and punctuation. So that I got knowledge and professional skills in English. Therefore, this course is completely international. Thank you for learning me this course.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 4,677 revisiones para Grammar and Punctuation

por Cris A R

Oct 27, 2020

This course was a good refresher for me. Even if I have good English communication skills, I believe that there is always room for improvement. Through the lectures, I was able to revisit the different tenses of the verb, the correct placement of punctuations, and the ways of writing more effectively. The lessons were explained in a clear and organized manner. I am grateful for the opportunity to learn, and I hope that more students can learn from this course.

por krishnendu b

May 14, 2020

With instructors delineated; easy to understand and well-designed lectures and numerous learning resources, from the very beginning till the end of the course I was able to learn a lot of things; moreover, I interacted with a very active and curious peer group, sometimes they corrected my errors and sometimes I did the same for them. looking forward to learning new things from this engaging website and to implement them in my life. Lastly thank you, Coursera.

por Anuj S

Jul 31, 2016

This course is beneficial for a person who wants to write well or to pursue career in writing. The teacher is very good. The course is very informative and productive. She prepared the course very well. Assignments and exercises will help you to learn things easily. Each and every second of lecture is worth to listen and they are very precise also. The professor has provided useful material which you can read later. I'm so glad that I took this course.

por Morelli G

May 08, 2020

In this course, I've learnt many things, which will be very useful, if not essential, when I'll have to do the writing part in my exams. Learning how to punctuate correctly is the key to succeed in the accademic world, so it worth the effort doing this course; besides, it isn't so long, so you can easily go through it and, therefore, learn at you leisure. In conclusion, I would recommend it, and you can take this review as an example of its usefulness.

por Muhammad S

Apr 29, 2019

It was a wonderful course. I not only enjoyed the course but also learned a lot. There are a few suggestions I would like to make:

1. Instead of using green or red color for correct or incorrect, please design tick for correct and cross for incorrect.

2. Quizzes don't have any explanation for their answers. I would be very beneficial for students if the correct version of the answers is also provided, which will help to clarify any misconception.

por Abdullah A M

Aug 29, 2017

This course was sweet and sour for me. It was sour, because, after each lesson, I came to know how shallow my skills were in English. On the other hand, it was sweet, as it guided me to overcome my mistakes in a non-intimidating way. Sometime I felt like, this course understands me very well. The lessons were well organized. And, there were additional materials after each lesson; they were instrumental for learning.

por Ajeet K R

May 22, 2020

This course was really awesome. This course cleared my lots of confusions like how to join sentences and that would be helpful for me in my academic life. But it creates lots of confusions that generates interest to take another course. The teaching style and presentations of Instructors of this course are really awesome. I enjoyed the course very much. Thanks to my lovely instructors and Coursera for this course.

por Naveen N

Aug 03, 2020

Most of the people for whom English is secondary language and are working in academia, writing a standard article whether it's a research article or usual report is a tough job. This course which is a part of a specialization course: Academic English writing starts at a very sweet introductory topic punctuation. Believe me, after attending this course you will surely see the drastic changes in your writing style.

por Samah A

Sep 25, 2020

it was very interesting course, I learn ,briefly , the verb tenses and some comparative between the similar ones. Also I learned how to form a compound and complex sentences by adding conjunctions and transitions. Finally, I learned about how to make the parallel sentences when we use the conjunction and transitions; In addition, I learned how to variate my sentences to avoid repetition and write good essays.

por OWEI P I

Jul 07, 2020

This Course has been really Amazing. I enjoyed it and I learnt something new and as for the Grammer section, there were things that I've forgotten but that I've been thought. but as a result of taking these classes it has rekindled in my spirit and has even given me a deeper understanding. Thank You, Coursera for this Great Opportunity to learn on your platform. I really appreciate it.

Respect!!!

por JulyWang

May 02, 2020

Thank you for all the information in this course. This is the first time that I clearly understand what is compound sentence and how to use comma. Even though I am still not perfectly flexible in controlling my sentence, I believe I have already improved a lot than my past. At the same time, reviewing peers' work is an extremely helpful way to test what I learnt and help to strengthen my study.

por Anahita H

Oct 04, 2019

The course was fantastic. Even though it seems simple and clear, but it includes all the essential elements in writing which I always have not paid too much attention to that. A perfect review on verb tenses, different types of all conjunctions, correct uses of punctuation, and a variety of sentence structures make the course unique and useful for everybody who wants to start academic writing.

por juliana g h

May 27, 2020

i would have liked to have received feedback not only from the other students but also from the teachers , but in my opinion the explanations were clear, the activities were easy to comprehend, and the comments i was able to make on the classmates works helped me to understand better what i was doing, and not just because the way i was writing felt right. overall it was a good experience

por Bayan S

Jun 12, 2018

This course was very helpful and beneficial. I've required a lot of important skills and knowledge that can help me produce correct and effective writings. I strongly recommend this course for anyone who'd like to improve their writing skills. In addition, I found the practice exercises were very related to the course material and very helpful to clarify what you've learned. Thank you.

por Haimunira

May 21, 2019

I have learned English for a while, but the learning process was not systmatical, and the courses was not taught by native speakers. By learning this course from Coursera, I knew both how to use comma and how to puncuate the sentence. Besides, my classmates were very friendly since they review my practices very patiently.

I like this course, BIG thanks for teachers and classmates.

por Elyson K P E

Oct 11, 2020

I really appreciate the teachers behind this course because the videos, exercises and quizzes they prepared reminded me to be cautious in constructing sentences. I enjoyed distinguishing verb tenses, deciding whether to use commas or semicolons, and incorporating sentence variety in my paragraphs. I recommend this course to those who want to hone their English proficiency skills.

por MD M H

Oct 08, 2020

I have a lot of weakness and misunderstanding on punctuation in English. The contents of this course helps me a lot to learn the correct use of punctuation. It designed in such a good way that everyone would be benefited, including who are master in English grammar. The course teacher is awesome, also. Thank you all who create such a beautiful course. May God bless you all.

por Yoe

Sep 27, 2017

This is an amazing course and I am going to take the next one in the same specialization. Through this course, I have learned four types of sentences, which helps us to have more varieties of paragraphs. Also, I have learned parallel structure and, basically, the formal use of punctuation. I believe that it is a lovely start and I will do better in my writing. Thanks a lot!

por Learner I

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent course! This really helped me professionally since I teach business English globally online to professionals and managers with multinational corporations. This course was a major asset for my professional development regimen, along with the other UC Irvine related course. Videos, quizzes and exercises are interactive and ideal for learning! Thank you!

por Anastasia M

Dec 03, 2015

It may sound ridiculous, but it is reaaly difficult in Russia to find out about English punctuation, so this course was very useful for me as a teacher. It allows me not only to improve my writing but also to develop my professional skills. I hope, it will help me to teach my students better.

Thaks a lot for this course and specialization!

All the best,

Anastasia

por jamal m

Jan 19, 2018

It was really helpful foe me. The skills I learned from this course was identify adverb clauses and punctuate them correctly, identify compound sentences and punctuate them correctly, identify and using sentences variety in writing. Also, I learned about parallel structure and how to use them in my writing. I will recommend this course for other student.

por Kosuke Y

Sep 14, 2016

This course teach us many grammar rules which we haven't learned ever. One of those rules is punctuation. After completing this course, you will be able to not only write English sentences better but also understand documents written in English easily. This course is definitely useful for everyone who know the grammar well but cannot write sentences well.

por Jennifer W

Oct 14, 2015

This is an excellent refresher course to brush up on grammar and punctuation. Prior to taking this course, I was an overzealous user of commas. Now, I know when to use certain punctuation and how to explain it to others. I definitely recommend this course for anyone wanting to revise English grammar and punctuation for the purpose of teaching or tutoring.

por Mohammad S C

Oct 03, 2020

Without a doubt, It is an excellent course. Although I have done several courses on different platforms, I didn't learn enough about writing skills. Luckily, I found this course on Coursera, which is help me a lot to improve my writing skills. I am very happy to learn from this course, and I really thankful to the instructor. She is a fantastic teacher.

por Abdullina E

May 23, 2020

It was really helpful!

According to an IELTS, I had an Upper-Intermediate level of English. So, I've decided to take some classes to fill my blank spots in grammar and punctuation, and I couldn't find better way to do it. I highly recommend this course to everyone who has any problems with the understanding way the punctuation works.

Thank you, Coursera!