Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
2,060 calificaciones
643 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

OM
26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

DG
12 de dic. de 2020

Best instructor. Made calculus very approachable connecting topics, illustrating applications, and his enthusiasm (which is contagious). Wish he'd do follow-up courses for more advanced mathematics.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 643 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por Imam

18 de may. de 2020

This is the best calculus introduction course i've ever seen. The way David Easdown teach was very very good and easy to understand. He mixes history with concept of math so you don't just learn to use calculus techniques, but also understand the history and the concept behind it. Very very recommended for those who seeks an introduction to calculus. Though, a bit understanding of algebra will be helpful. Kudos to University of Sydney and David for making this course free!

por Nirosh S

9 de jun. de 2020

Great execution ! I deeply think that the math presented here are affordable for everyone and therefore is a great way to get initiated to the calculus. The teacher is great and the videos, the sheets and quizzes provided are really good to improve the understanding of each themes covered.

I'm starting new studies in mechanical engineering and it was really refreshing and educating to follow this course. Thanks a lot to provide such great content ! Definitely recommended.

por Anantharaman K

14 de may. de 2020

The course is excellent on content and its Delivery. Mr. David's, the instructor, enthusiasm and energy is infectious (poor analogy given the time but still an absolute FACT). Covered pretty much the basics and introduction to calculus in a fun way. Content Delivery is awesome and extensive with range of examples. The course is designed like a continuous story, coherent with previous week's modules and his presentation is extraordinary. Please Keep up the good work.

por Kochetova S

12 de sep. de 2019

It was my gretest pleasure to listen to the lectures of Mr. Easdown. I liked Math at school, our teacher was very knowledgable and passionate about the subject. I've met just a couple of such great teachers like him. Mr. Easdown now is one of them. Even though I started this course just to refresh logarithms, I could not resist to finish it and always looked forward to the next lecture. Moreover, I would love to attend another course made by Mr. Easdown!

por Jeffrey M I

4 de may. de 2020

David Easdown is one of the best educators I have ever had the privilege to study with. His knowledge of the material is clear, but what is more remarkable is his ability to explain the advanced concepts in a clear and concise manner. Even more impressive and notable is his enthusiam for the subject - he has clear joy in studying the field, and he shares this almost mystical enthusiasm and wonder with his students. Thank you for the experience.

por Mohamed R A P

14 de jun. de 2020

One of the best course I have ever learnt from Coursera. David is an excellent instructor and explains the concepts thoroughly. The best part is that he himself answers all your doubts directly. If you want to have your basics strong in Calculus this course is for you. A very good course and I am pretty much sure that you won't be disappointed taking this course. Thanks a lot to Prof David and Coursera team.

Thanks & Regards,

Mohamed

por Gregory S

31 de may. de 2019

Excellently presented course with a great instructor. David Easdown's enthusiasm for the subject helped keep me motiviated. It does require a lot of work per week to keep up with the suggested schedule of the course, but just keep in mind they are not hard deadlines and your progress is not lost if you do not meet them. If you want a great introduction into one of the most interesting and useful areas in maths, give it a go!

por Tomer P

30 de ago. de 2020

Marvelous and fascinating course. David is teaching this course with such passion and enthusiasm. Every small detail is explained with care and provided with examples which help students fully understand and experience why the theory behind works. The fully detailed reading notes and quizzes accompanied to each lesson are the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

por Michael d H 

8 de dic. de 2020

This course has been my “Covid” companion for the last 8 months. It has kept me sane. The instructor (David Easdown) is essentially what makes this course. His dedication and knowledge is what drives this to be the best experience, for me at any rate, and from what I read here, and others of a lifetime.

por Mattia C

28 de abr. de 2020

Very, very, well explained, for everyone (even for me, without a strong math background). A lot of exercises that helps to fix the knowledges and a detailed notes for every argument. A lot of help directly from the instructor in the discussion forum. One of the best courses I ever attended.

por Maahir J

20 de abr. de 2020

Exactly what I needed! Clear, concise explanations covering a wide array of topics. Moreover, the professor's visible mathematical passion and enthusiasm made the course all the more interesting. It is definitely the most structured and intuitive dive into Calculus!

por Ali T

5 de ago. de 2019

Simply - lean way to become higher than average in calculus. Love the course with its subject and material structure. Lecturer explains all the stuff lovely and with passion. Music introduction deserves separate appreciation. Thanks a lot!

por Hércules R

25 de may. de 2020

For the first time, I was able to practice and learn Calculus in a clear way. This course gave me the opportunity to understand the applications of derivatives and integrals in a way I never did before.

por Leonardo C M

18 de jul. de 2020

This is a great course to take for people who are not at all involved in Calculus maths. I was new at it and I truly believe I have learned a lot. Excellent instructor and very comprehensive materials.

por Nicholas F A

13 de jun. de 2020

A good recap of important mathematical concepts and and different perspectives, providing interesting elucidation, to what is already known. Thank you for this course, it was superbe.

por Jared E

21 de oct. de 2020

Very thorough, with an exceptional instructor. Hands down the best instructor I've ever seen on Coursera, showing both enthusiasm for the material and for education.

por Denis P

7 de oct. de 2020

I’ve been teaching science for 31 years in a highschool. This course was really a good way to refresh my mind. Moreover, the professor was outstanding.

por Maureen G G

26 de jun. de 2020

Very good course. The teacher is amazing!

por Daryl J S

26 de jun. de 2020

Great calculus refresher course!

por Brian K

27 de jun. de 2020

Having had very discouraging experiences in previous calculus classes, this was a really great experience. Between the very straight forward video instruction, and very useful written notes, this course is very attainable with the appropriate amount of time committed. 4 stars only because the time commitments that were posted were easily half of what I actually needed to complete the course.

por Nurzat S

13 de abr. de 2020

good course, but the topics of module 1 are too basic, but they are may be helpful for people who have bad background in math, in general course was good.

But there was a few practice materials, too much theory, give some more practice materials

por David P

10 de oct. de 2020

None of the exam or homework questions match what is being taught. He is reviewing elementary level stuff like what a number line is and what an integer is, and then the homework for that section has topics such as simplifying rational expressions. Something is seriously wrong with this. It quickly escalates into advanced proofs such as proving the theory of pythagoreous without adequate descriptors of how and why that is shown. Analytical geometry is tested after showing the proof once.

por Fred V

18 de oct. de 2020

Useful for teenage learning, catch-up learning, as well as refresh-learning. However, in the discussion forum, instructors verge on arrogance and indulge in fallacies. It is surprising to see, nowadays, instructors who blind students with their oversized egos.

por Christopher N

2 de oct. de 2020

Coursera woudn't let me unenroll from the course.

por Karin S

28 de jul. de 2020

This course is extraordinarily tough. I thought the illustrations were very helpful with connecting concepts and there were times I got excited seeing where things were going mathematically. The professor is very helpful and is very excited about the subject, which I greatly appreciate.

My only thing is that this course is horribly misnamed, but maybe the US and AUS have different standards for what is considered to be an introduction to calculus. You pretty much have 2 weeks pre-calc and then cover all of calc I over 3 weeks, plus some extra things to where I found it a bit overwhelming at times. If you're looking to level up your skills, he gives you some very helpful tools with which to do so.