Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
2,568 calificaciones
796 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

OM
26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

CN
13 de nov. de 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement\n\nmy will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 809 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por Chris A M

18 de ene. de 2020

The lessons were delivered clearly and explained the content thoroughly, delivering both mathematical methodology and history, allowing students to grow and develop an appreciation of the mathematical concepts. The tutor was superb with his teaching methods, and often replies to questions on the forums when a question seems to difficult to overcome.

Would definitely recommend to future students who are new to the concepts behind calculus, as the high quality of the content provided gives clear insights into what-seems-to-be difficult concepts.

por David N

17 de may. de 2020

I can not rate this course highly enough. The instructor has this contagious enthusiasm and genuine love for his subject. The accompanying lecture notes are really helpful and the quizzes push you hard. I would love to see a course on more advanced calculus from him. Although being an introductory course, it does not shy away from slightly more complex topics and leaves the student with a broad understanding of calculus. These were four very enjoyable weeks and I am now eager to dig deeper into advanced mathematics. Thank you very much!

por Nick C

17 de feb. de 2020

This was a fantastic introductory course to the basic concepts of calculus. Dr. Easdown is an amazing teacher able to distill the most complex of topics into simple and easy-to-understand language. His passion for mathematics is palpable and infectious. I would highly recommend taking this specific course to those looking to get an introduction into calculus or even to those looking for a refresher in topics before more advanced study. It was well worth the effort over the five weeks. Thank you so much, Dr. Easdown!!

por Arthur S

1 de jun. de 2020

I would like to thank Prof. David Easdown for the very good presentation and lectures that he had given. I took this class to refresh me with fundamental concepts of Calculus as I have taken the Calculus courses more than 40 years ago. The presentation is very clear and the reading materials enhance the concepts that are discussed in the presentations and provide clear examples that I used as guides in reviewing and taking the chapter quizzes.

I look forward taking other courses from Prof. David Easdown in the future.

por Robbert W

9 de oct. de 2020

Great introduction course to calculus. I was looking for a course to freshen up my math knowledge from my high school time (20 years ago). This covered a lot of the key topics and went deeper into the reasons and proofs behind certain laws and rules. The pace is good and the setup allows you to skip ahead to quizes if you already have a good command of one of the topics. Only downside is that, due to nature of a digital platform, all quizes and assessments are multiple choice.

por Vikram C J

23 de abr. de 2020

Really thankful for this wonderful course. Prior to this course I never had the confidence over the concepts of calculus. During my school days all I was taught was "How to solve the differential equations, etc." with not even slightest of emphasis put on teaching us what we were actually doing and why we were doing it. This course gave me the understanding that I liked. Guess I'll be one of those now spreading "Math is fun". Thank you Coursera and especially Professor Easdown.

por Imam

18 de may. de 2020

This is the best calculus introduction course i've ever seen. The way David Easdown teach was very very good and easy to understand. He mixes history with concept of math so you don't just learn to use calculus techniques, but also understand the history and the concept behind it. Very very recommended for those who seeks an introduction to calculus. Though, a bit understanding of algebra will be helpful. Kudos to University of Sydney and David for making this course free!

por Nirosh S

9 de jun. de 2020

Great execution ! I deeply think that the math presented here are affordable for everyone and therefore is a great way to get initiated to the calculus. The teacher is great and the videos, the sheets and quizzes provided are really good to improve the understanding of each themes covered.

I'm starting new studies in mechanical engineering and it was really refreshing and educating to follow this course. Thanks a lot to provide such great content ! Definitely recommended.

por Anantharaman K

14 de may. de 2020

The course is excellent on content and its Delivery. Mr. David's, the instructor, enthusiasm and energy is infectious (poor analogy given the time but still an absolute FACT). Covered pretty much the basics and introduction to calculus in a fun way. Content Delivery is awesome and extensive with range of examples. The course is designed like a continuous story, coherent with previous week's modules and his presentation is extraordinary. Please Keep up the good work.

por Светлана К

12 de sep. de 2019

It was my gretest pleasure to listen to the lectures of Mr. Easdown. I liked Math at school, our teacher was very knowledgable and passionate about the subject. I've met just a couple of such great teachers like him. Mr. Easdown now is one of them. Even though I started this course just to refresh logarithms, I could not resist to finish it and always looked forward to the next lecture. Moreover, I would love to attend another course made by Mr. Easdown!

por Jeffrey M I

4 de may. de 2020

David Easdown is one of the best educators I have ever had the privilege to study with. His knowledge of the material is clear, but what is more remarkable is his ability to explain the advanced concepts in a clear and concise manner. Even more impressive and notable is his enthusiam for the subject - he has clear joy in studying the field, and he shares this almost mystical enthusiasm and wonder with his students. Thank you for the experience.

por Mohamed R A P

14 de jun. de 2020

One of the best course I have ever learnt from Coursera. David is an excellent instructor and explains the concepts thoroughly. The best part is that he himself answers all your doubts directly. If you want to have your basics strong in Calculus this course is for you. A very good course and I am pretty much sure that you won't be disappointed taking this course. Thanks a lot to Prof David and Coursera team.

Thanks & Regards,

Mohamed

por Gregory S

1 de jun. de 2019

Excellently presented course with a great instructor. David Easdown's enthusiasm for the subject helped keep me motiviated. It does require a lot of work per week to keep up with the suggested schedule of the course, but just keep in mind they are not hard deadlines and your progress is not lost if you do not meet them. If you want a great introduction into one of the most interesting and useful areas in maths, give it a go!

por Tomer P

30 de ago. de 2020

Marvelous and fascinating course. David is teaching this course with such passion and enthusiasm. Every small detail is explained with care and provided with examples which help students fully understand and experience why the theory behind works. The fully detailed reading notes and quizzes accompanied to each lesson are the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

por Anna

25 de ene. de 2021

This course is just one of the most legit courses on calc I've taken on the Internet. The lector is a professional with such a contagious passion for math, lessons are very well explained and structured. If you wanna see the beauty of math, I think this course is for you. THANK YOU SO SO MUCH!

por Muhammad E

14 de jun. de 2020

One of the Best Math Courses Ever!

I Really do hope that the university of Sydney make sequels for it

and Mr. David Easdown thank you very much for the effort and the entertaining way you offered this course in!

really appreciate your effort and loved your enthusiasm for math

por Leonardo C M

19 de jul. de 2020

This is a great course to take for people who are not at all involved in Calculus maths. I was new at it and I truly believe I have learned a lot. Excellent instructor and very comprehensive materials.

por Nurzat S

13 de abr. de 2020

good course, but the topics of module 1 are too basic, but they are may be helpful for people who have bad background in math, in general course was good.

But there was a few practice materials, too much theory, give some more practice materials

por Bob G

19 de abr. de 2021

Excellent presentation and course design by Prof. Easdown. It was apparent throughout the course that he really cared about teaching, and had put many hours into preparing it. In each subsection, there were three parts: (1) a short video of 8 - 15 minutes in which Prof. Easdown explained a concept, and worked it out on software that was the equivalent of a whiteboard, with examples and simple graphs, (2) 3 - 5 pages of excellent notes on the subject matter just covered in the video, with example problems worked out, and (3) a quiz of 10 multiple choice questions. You should work out the problems with pen and paper. You immediately see the results of your quiz. You don't see what the correct answers are for any that you got wrong, but you can retake it as many times as you want and upgrade your score. I immediately retook the quiz every time I missed any questions so I could learn what I didn't understand the first time. This was extremely helpful to me. There is a 20 question multiple choice quiz at the end of each oof the five units. The instructor was exceptional, and I am very glad I took the course. I highly recommend this course.

por Carlos O

24 de ene. de 2021

Excellent course. Pertinent, interestingly related and (very) well explained topics; excellent support material with hundreds of exercises and more than fifty extra readings; Professor Easdown demonstrates his math passion as much as his interest in having student to actually think and learn. An inspirational educator.

The course itself covers the main Calculus themes which, in my case, I didn't have contact for more than 25 years, so, as refresher it was quite pertinent. Practical examples are given and can be extrapolated to several current issues (like Covid issues or growth of world population or even Bach, the theme for every video). Btw, the example using a real car trip was fantastic, there's only an issue I was unable to understand... in the end, was there a speed ticket? :)

Finally, I would like to thank you, Professor and team, for putting together and making available such quality course and materials. It made me curious and inspired for more. I am sure others students will also feel the same.

Wishing you all the best, Carlos

por Mohammad B S

12 de jul. de 2021

This is an excellent course. I highly recommend it. Nevertheless, I have one piece of advice for you: don't try to finish it in five weeks!

Mathematics is a subject that can not be digested in large chunks. You will do well if you would study for just one lesson a day. Watch the lecture, read the notes, and solve the quiz after each subject. Don't study for more than one lesson per day as you will be too exhausted to concentrate. If you study one subject per day, it will take you three to four months to finish the course. This is the normal time for a university-level course. Also, you would need a thick notebook and a pencil to solve the problems and exams given in the course.

Calculus is the foundation of many scientific and all engineering disciplines. I hope that you will also pass this course.

por Joy S

23 de ago. de 2020

Thank you! This course was exceptionally well-organized and engaging. Dr. David Easdown is a passionate lecturer, and I very much appreciate how attentive and active he is on the forums supporting students and answering questions. As a person with a weak mathematical background who has been intimidated by calculus courses, I found the material provided the right level of challenge (the the video lectures/notes could move quickly through more advanced applications of the techniques we were studying, but I wasn't overwhelmed by the practice problems--it was a good balance). I have built some confidence in being able to tackle more advanced courses in the future. Thanks again!

por Alvaro U M

5 de sep. de 2020

El profesor es muy entretenido, sobrio, explica bien y se detiene en los conceptos. Se nota que "vibra" con lo que enseña. Los apuntes excelentes, sin grasa, claros y precisos. Los ejercicios destinados a la comprensión de los conceptos, no muy difíciles lo que ayuda a entender la materia y no complicarse con artilugios algebraicos. Las referencias históricas y relaciones con matemáticos que construyeron el cálculo, notables.

En Chile, estamos en plena pandemia (al igual que el resto del mundo), pero nos ha pegado muy duro. Tomé este curso para olvidarme un poco de la contingencia. hacía muchos años que no veía estos temas. Valió la pena. Nada que decir. Excelente.

por Brian L

23 de feb. de 2021

This is a brilliant course by David Easdown. As someone who is rather 'long in the tooth' I found that the course provided much needed engagement of the mental faculties during the UK lockdown. It' was also like reading a good book - just did not want it to end! David's presentation is remarkable - no words are wasted and every sentence is delivered with sublime precision and with obvious enthusiasm. Enjoyable, challenging and immensely satisfying throughout. The notes are just right and the exercises are incredibly absorbing and fun to do. I do hope that David and the Univ of Sydney can find the time and resources to put on a further course.

por Anna K

18 de feb. de 2021

Excellent course! I studied Calculus for two years in Russia and enrolled in the course mostly to learn the vocabularly in English, but I also enjoyed a great explanation of the subject and numerous excercieses that helped me to revise the material that I studied long time ago. I enjoyed the videos and the pdfs of the course very much! The course is well structured and allows to cover a lot of material in a short time. The teacher of the course, David Easdown, is a great encouraging presenter! He even replied himself to the question that I had. Thank you, David! Keep it up!