Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
2,233 calificaciones
703 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

OM
26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

SV
29 de ago. de 2020

Exceptional course. Fantastic explaining by Professor Easdown, I wish more teachers were as clear as he is, and as kind and thoughtful towards their students. Many, many thanks in case you see this.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 700 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por Carlos O

24 de ene. de 2021

Excellent course. Pertinent, interestingly related and (very) well explained topics; excellent support material with hundreds of exercises and more than fifty extra readings; Professor Easdown demonstrates his math passion as much as his interest in having student to actually think and learn. An inspirational educator.

The course itself covers the main Calculus themes which, in my case, I didn't have contact for more than 25 years, so, as refresher it was quite pertinent. Practical examples are given and can be extrapolated to several current issues (like Covid issues or growth of world population or even Bach, the theme for every video). Btw, the example using a real car trip was fantastic, there's only an issue I was unable to understand... in the end, was there a speed ticket? :)

Finally, I would like to thank you, Professor and team, for putting together and making available such quality course and materials. It made me curious and inspired for more. I am sure others students will also feel the same.

Wishing you all the best, Carlos

por Joy S

23 de ago. de 2020

Thank you! This course was exceptionally well-organized and engaging. Dr. David Easdown is a passionate lecturer, and I very much appreciate how attentive and active he is on the forums supporting students and answering questions. As a person with a weak mathematical background who has been intimidated by calculus courses, I found the material provided the right level of challenge (the the video lectures/notes could move quickly through more advanced applications of the techniques we were studying, but I wasn't overwhelmed by the practice problems--it was a good balance). I have built some confidence in being able to tackle more advanced courses in the future. Thanks again!

por Alvaro U M

5 de sep. de 2020

El profesor es muy entretenido, sobrio, explica bien y se detiene en los conceptos. Se nota que "vibra" con lo que enseña. Los apuntes excelentes, sin grasa, claros y precisos. Los ejercicios destinados a la comprensión de los conceptos, no muy difíciles lo que ayuda a entender la materia y no complicarse con artilugios algebraicos. Las referencias históricas y relaciones con matemáticos que construyeron el cálculo, notables.

En Chile, estamos en plena pandemia (al igual que el resto del mundo), pero nos ha pegado muy duro. Tomé este curso para olvidarme un poco de la contingencia. hacía muchos años que no veía estos temas. Valió la pena. Nada que decir. Excelente.

por Rukshan J S

13 de sep. de 2020

I enrolled in this course a long time ago and at first, I did not go through because I saw a lot of exercises. Little did I know that those exercises were very carefully created to cater to the best learning experience for the student. Prof. Easdown is the best Calculus teacher ever! If anything kept me going throughout this journey, it was his enthusiasm when teaching. Thank you soo much sir! "Please read the notes, and when you are ready, please attempt the exercises", the enthusiasm is priceless. Again, thank you, sir, and thank you Coursera!

por Chris A M

18 de ene. de 2020

The lessons were delivered clearly and explained the content thoroughly, delivering both mathematical methodology and history, allowing students to grow and develop an appreciation of the mathematical concepts. The tutor was superb with his teaching methods, and often replies to questions on the forums when a question seems to difficult to overcome.

Would definitely recommend to future students who are new to the concepts behind calculus, as the high quality of the content provided gives clear insights into what-seems-to-be difficult concepts.

por David N

17 de may. de 2020

I can not rate this course highly enough. The instructor has this contagious enthusiasm and genuine love for his subject. The accompanying lecture notes are really helpful and the quizzes push you hard. I would love to see a course on more advanced calculus from him. Although being an introductory course, it does not shy away from slightly more complex topics and leaves the student with a broad understanding of calculus. These were four very enjoyable weeks and I am now eager to dig deeper into advanced mathematics. Thank you very much!

por Nick C

17 de feb. de 2020

This was a fantastic introductory course to the basic concepts of calculus. Dr. Easdown is an amazing teacher able to distill the most complex of topics into simple and easy-to-understand language. His passion for mathematics is palpable and infectious. I would highly recommend taking this specific course to those looking to get an introduction into calculus or even to those looking for a refresher in topics before more advanced study. It was well worth the effort over the five weeks. Thank you so much, Dr. Easdown!!

por Arthur S

1 de jun. de 2020

I would like to thank Prof. David Easdown for the very good presentation and lectures that he had given. I took this class to refresh me with fundamental concepts of Calculus as I have taken the Calculus courses more than 40 years ago. The presentation is very clear and the reading materials enhance the concepts that are discussed in the presentations and provide clear examples that I used as guides in reviewing and taking the chapter quizzes.

I look forward taking other courses from Prof. David Easdown in the future.

por Terry F

29 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course materials and explanations for the most part. Exercises were very useful as were the notes provided with the different sections. There were only a couple of things where the instructor presented an idea which needed to be used to solve a type of function without adequately giving the origin of the idea and how it worked. I would absolutely take another course from this instructor and this has made me interested in taking another math course to progress beyond the material presented here.

por Murat E

17 de ago. de 2020

İnstructor David Easdown has been created a great course. The course is nourished with both so educative videos and notes. I also really loved instructor's sketches :) which are complete masterpieces. I had taken this course with some previous calculus experience and now with completion of this course I can easily say knowledges here developed my comprehension. I wish to thank David and other people who helped to create this course. I look forward to see new courses coming soon :D

por Robbert W

9 de oct. de 2020

Great introduction course to calculus. I was looking for a course to freshen up my math knowledge from my high school time (20 years ago). This covered a lot of the key topics and went deeper into the reasons and proofs behind certain laws and rules. The pace is good and the setup allows you to skip ahead to quizes if you already have a good command of one of the topics. Only downside is that, due to nature of a digital platform, all quizes and assessments are multiple choice.

por Vikram C J

23 de abr. de 2020

Really thankful for this wonderful course. Prior to this course I never had the confidence over the concepts of calculus. During my school days all I was taught was "How to solve the differential equations, etc." with not even slightest of emphasis put on teaching us what we were actually doing and why we were doing it. This course gave me the understanding that I liked. Guess I'll be one of those now spreading "Math is fun". Thank you Coursera and especially Professor Easdown.

por Imam

18 de may. de 2020

This is the best calculus introduction course i've ever seen. The way David Easdown teach was very very good and easy to understand. He mixes history with concept of math so you don't just learn to use calculus techniques, but also understand the history and the concept behind it. Very very recommended for those who seeks an introduction to calculus. Though, a bit understanding of algebra will be helpful. Kudos to University of Sydney and David for making this course free!

por Nirosh S

9 de jun. de 2020

Great execution ! I deeply think that the math presented here are affordable for everyone and therefore is a great way to get initiated to the calculus. The teacher is great and the videos, the sheets and quizzes provided are really good to improve the understanding of each themes covered.

I'm starting new studies in mechanical engineering and it was really refreshing and educating to follow this course. Thanks a lot to provide such great content ! Definitely recommended.

por Anantharaman K

14 de may. de 2020

The course is excellent on content and its Delivery. Mr. David's, the instructor, enthusiasm and energy is infectious (poor analogy given the time but still an absolute FACT). Covered pretty much the basics and introduction to calculus in a fun way. Content Delivery is awesome and extensive with range of examples. The course is designed like a continuous story, coherent with previous week's modules and his presentation is extraordinary. Please Keep up the good work.

por Kochetova S

12 de sep. de 2019

It was my gretest pleasure to listen to the lectures of Mr. Easdown. I liked Math at school, our teacher was very knowledgable and passionate about the subject. I've met just a couple of such great teachers like him. Mr. Easdown now is one of them. Even though I started this course just to refresh logarithms, I could not resist to finish it and always looked forward to the next lecture. Moreover, I would love to attend another course made by Mr. Easdown!

por Jeffrey M I

4 de may. de 2020

David Easdown is one of the best educators I have ever had the privilege to study with. His knowledge of the material is clear, but what is more remarkable is his ability to explain the advanced concepts in a clear and concise manner. Even more impressive and notable is his enthusiam for the subject - he has clear joy in studying the field, and he shares this almost mystical enthusiasm and wonder with his students. Thank you for the experience.

por Sandeep C

5 de ene. de 2021

wonderfully designed course with good number of real life examples, the video presentation by the professor is succinct, to the point, crisp and very clear. The accompanying notes help in a quick re-cap of the concepts, and also work as a good reference resource. I found the quizzes / exercises to be simple, maybe these were designed for a beginner. Overall a great course to attend. My 5 stars to the professor and the course designers.

por Mohamed R A P

14 de jun. de 2020

One of the best course I have ever learnt from Coursera. David is an excellent instructor and explains the concepts thoroughly. The best part is that he himself answers all your doubts directly. If you want to have your basics strong in Calculus this course is for you. A very good course and I am pretty much sure that you won't be disappointed taking this course. Thanks a lot to Prof David and Coursera team.

Thanks & Regards,

Mohamed

por Jose G

20 de jul. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I have not taken university Calculus in over 30 years, and I thought of doing this for fun, and I must admit, I enjoyed the material. My first experience at University was very tough, but I found the way it was presented very organized. The videos and notes are well done. Professor Easdown does an excellent job of presenting the material, and you can tell his passion for the course. Great Job.

por Gregory S

1 de jun. de 2019

Excellently presented course with a great instructor. David Easdown's enthusiasm for the subject helped keep me motiviated. It does require a lot of work per week to keep up with the suggested schedule of the course, but just keep in mind they are not hard deadlines and your progress is not lost if you do not meet them. If you want a great introduction into one of the most interesting and useful areas in maths, give it a go!

por SWAGAT S

14 de ago. de 2020

It's a beautiful certificate course which enhance the level of highly polished mathematical instruments of calculus and it's various applications it's very useful for technical and non technical students. Specially thanks to prof.David sir who analyses each and every topic and contents in detailed and the notes was also well enough to carry on the practice quizes. Thanks to Coursera also for adding a beautiful course in it.

por Gilberto B

31 de ago. de 2020

The Calculus is a fundamental tool for engineers and is incredible the ways this teacher approaches this introductory course, it is highly recommended for begginers, as for engineers who wants to review the fundamental concepts of this important topic. It is remarkable the way he teaches the basic concepts of algebra to reach the calculus, is outstanding!! Thanks to Coursera and to Professor David for this opportunity.

por Mr.K.Kumar

26 de abr. de 2020

Its really wonderful courses and It is very useful to my career.This Course will boost my job. It will help perform better in carrying out my professonal and give me an edge over my competitors. I have to learn different types of ways in this course .Definitely i have to join and learn different types of courses in coursera.I really thank to give an wonderful opportunity to join this course.Thank you very much.

por Tim S

15 de sep. de 2020

I took this course to challenge my memory on many aspects of algebra / calculus. I am a retired system admin ( Linux systems ) and have always loved mathematics. Was definitely impressed and pleased with the wonderfully thorough and patient teaching skills of Professor Easdown. The videos and notes along with the challenging quizzes were absolutely fantastic! Thank You all at Coursera and especially Prof. Easdown.