Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
2,578 calificaciones
800 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

CN
13 de nov. de 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement\n\nmy will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

OM
26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 810 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por William H

17 de may. de 2021

What an amazing course. David's step by step approach combined with geometric visualization helped make challenging concepts as easy as possible. Historical context spanning thousands of years, as well as brief profiles of key figures led to a deeper appreciation of mathematics in the course of human history. The many real-world examples were key to a deep understanding of what are some complicated and abstract concepts. David's enthusiasm for the subject matter and teaching was energizing and inspiring! I hope to see more courses in Mathematics led by Prof Easdown!

por Annette D

16 de may. de 2021

I am a retired Canadian secondary school math teacher having taught pre-calculus. Over 40 years ago (before even scientific calculators were common!) I earned a BMath and BEd. I wanted to test my brain, was curious to see how education online worked and how math is presented in a different country. This was a challenge and more work than I anticipated (life kept getting in the way) but I am very happy with the end result. Thank you for providing this as an audited course! The instructor,David Easman is very easy to follow. Overall this was a good experience.

por Aaradhya S

12 de jun. de 2021

This is the most brilliant course of introductory calculus , professor David teachs in such a succinct way that you will feel very comfortable with new concepts very early on and will acquire fluency relatively fast . The modules are very well designed and the teaching method is outstanding . I would wholly recommend it to anyone who would like to learn true mathematics in its true context , not only learning formulas and their mechanical implementation. I thank University of of Sydney and Professor Easdown for this excellent course.

por Miguel A J A

19 de sep. de 2021

Buenas tardes, en lo personal el curso me parece muy interesante, me hizo pensar, recordar y repasar. Lo único que se me dificulto es que toda la información esta en ingles, y me tardaba en traducir y entender. pero a parte de esto todo el curso muy interesante.

Pregunta. como puedo obtener el Certificado del curso, porque al iniciar no lo pague, ojala y pudiera pagar para que me envíen el certificado. gracias. saludos

Miguel Angel Juárez Aguilar

Tepatepec, Estado de Hidalgo. México

por Gabriel M

24 de jun. de 2021

I​nstructor David Easdown is amazing! He makes math... fun (insert surprised face emoji) and gives real-world examples of everything that is taught in this course. There are times that he goes a little fast but everything is explained in the notes that accompany every lesson if you need to slow down and review the material. I plan on using the skills I learned (differentiation and integration) in future engineering and circuit analysis courses.

por Chin j t

1 de abr. de 2021

the course content is really great, your visual aids are astounding and tremendously aid in enchancing understanding. The pace is good and explanation is thorough, well grounded and illuminating, You complement the lesson with real life examples which makes mathematics sound really useful. However, i think you should make the questions harder. I managed to finish all practice questions and graded questions over 4 days.

por aborucu

4 de abr. de 2021

This is a pre-calc course and Instructor is highly motivating students to develop understanding of topics which were confusing for me. He does this by breaking subjects into small bite sizes. So I had the chance to both refresh and/or grasp missing concepts that hindered my understading of calculus. Of course it's not a full fledged course but it made me confidently pursue calculus topics of interest afterwards.

por Manaranjan p

28 de may. de 2021

One of the best courses I have take so far. I was looking for a course which starts with some basics of precalculus and the course was exact fit. I have been working on ML for last 3/4 years and was looking to do a calculus course for a very long time. Very happy to find this course. The pace, content, explanation, practical tips, quizzes are perfect. Thanks Prof.David Easdown. You are amazing!

por Tsai-Yun L

18 de mar. de 2021

Best instructor ever - passionate, elegant, and smart! The teacher explained concepts and theories of calculus not only very clearly, but also elegantly. I really enjoyed this course. It is a very well planned and well paced introduction to calculus course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to start learning calculus! And a big thank you to Prof. Easdown!

por erdem h

23 de mar. de 2021

Good teaching methods applied in this course. The lecturer seems enthusiastic throughout and is well informed about the subjects he teaches. I liked in particular that harder questions were actually solved in the study materials and in the quizes were relatively a bit simpler ones. This way supposedely students are also likely to complete the course. Thank you.

por Gabriel R

13 de feb. de 2021

The course is excellent. The videos convey the concepts clearly, and concisely. The instructor conveys knowledge and passion about the subject. The notes are well laid out, and contain relevant examples. I really appreciate the extra module at the end of week 5 tying it together to physics, as it's exactly what I want to apply this knowledge base to. Thank you!

por Partha P

11 de abr. de 2021

I took this course to refresh my university Calculus to learn Machine Learning and I can confidently say that this course on Calculus is the best I have taken so far. Very clearly explained. The exercises comprise of well selected questionnaires, which reinforce the learning further. Thank you Coursera, The University of Sydney and Professor David Easdown.

por 윤채환

1 de dic. de 2021

The course is even better than the courses I had taken when I was a college student.

I sincerely appreciate the professor's kind, careful, and easy explanations, which were enormously helpful for me to understand and remind the calculous.

I strongly recommend this course to every people who want to grab the core concept of calculous from the basic level.

por Manuel U C A

5 de abr. de 2020

Un excelente curso donde no solo aprenderás Cálculo, sino desarrollaras otras habilidades matemáticas a medida que se avanza en el curso y por lo menos desde mi opinión aprender a ver el cálculo desde otra perspectiva y sus aplicaciones de la mente de unas de las instituciones más importantes del mundo. La verdad me voy muy satisfecho de este Curso.

por Eren K

18 de ago. de 2020

I really loved this course, with my bare Calculus knowledge from highschool. Thanks to the venerable lecturer, I have remembered all my knowledge from the scratch, and I think that I have done this by apprehending all the topics. Thanks Sydney University and Mr. Easdown, I am pleased for attending this priceless course! Greetings from Turkey.

por Pauline P

30 de jun. de 2020

This was an excellent introduction to calculus. It was well presented, well set out and logically explained. I really enjoyed following each step, I found the quizzes and assessments a challenge, but with careful attention to the videos and notes not impossible. Thank you Professor Easdown, you have inspired me to dig deeper into calculus.

por D S A A

26 de oct. de 2019

Thank you for this introductory course on calculus! I was not in touch with mathematics for a while now. It really helped me to recapture my memories of calculus from the school. I am thinking of getting back to studies again with a master's course, hopefully on computational science. I believe this course would prove to be really helpful.

por Umesh S

18 de ago. de 2020

Must say , one of best courses I have gone so far. Mr. David ( instructor) has such a passion while explaning concepts that you simply fall in love with his teaching methods. Thanks a lot Sir !!!

His eyes , facial expression and breathing makes you feel that its not maths you are listening but a wonderful story like Lord of the rings !!!

por John R

15 de nov. de 2020

Thank you for a very enjoyable course. I had studied calculus many years ago but with this course, I finally understood it. I enjoyed the references to the parts played by the many mathematicians who constructed the 'house of calculus'. I was sorry to come to the end of the course. Maybe the rumour was true - you can enjoy calculus.

por Mrunmoy S

27 de ene. de 2020

I was looking for a refresher course on Calculus and found this one. This course is just what I was looking for and it not only gave me a refresher but also gave me good ideas to solve tricky problems. So so thankful to David for this course. If you're looking to start calculus or need a refresher, this is a superb one to start with.

por Sean T

12 de jun. de 2021

This was an amazing course! It was the best course I have done on Coursera and I am sad that Professor Easdown has not done any other courses on here. The videos are clear and concise. The notes and exercises are on point and help you learn the concepts easily. There are even hints in the forum for when you get stuck. Just amazing.

por Jessica S P

30 de may. de 2020

The course was more than I expected. All the instructions, videos and lectures were carefully designed, using the different representations of each mathematical concept, allowing me to interpret them geometrically. Also, each quiz evaluated the contents of each task in a very similar way to the way they were taught. Thanks for all!

por Jiateng X

8 de mar. de 2020

Well, as a Chinese student who suffered so many hell-like math tests, I would say this course is extremely easy for me... But it really arouses my interest in math again! Can you believe once I was concerned that me myself was not good at science? Anyway, I am sure calculus can be helpful in my future study. Thanks professor!

por Ivan Z

12 de feb. de 2021

Exceptional course and an amazing professor who explains the material with great certainty. Even though I hold a Bachelor degree in Math, the basic material of the course gave me even more thorough understanding. I have never seen such a great math teaching course. Absolutely recommended to anyone! Best of luck to David!

por Cyrus D P

25 de jun. de 2020

The explanations of the instructor are very comprehensive it has filled in all the gaps the I lacked regarding the complicated concepts I still have not understood back in high school. I have gained a good foundation in calculus through this course. Thank you so much, the University of Sydney, and to professor David Easdown.