Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
2,139 calificaciones
672 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

OM
26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

SV
29 de ago. de 2020

Exceptional course. Fantastic explaining by Professor Easdown, I wish more teachers were as clear as he is, and as kind and thoughtful towards their students. Many, many thanks in case you see this.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 669 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por Leon C

1 de jun. de 2020

thank you for the option to do the course with all assignments unlocked.it gave me the opportunity to study at easy and Sir did a wonderful job.At first he sounded like an alien but then i paid attention and it turns out.it was 1+1,simple to the one who gives an ear.i failed so many times till i got it right.Calculus its still hard but i enjoyed this course.And i am looking forward to more.

por R M

28 de jun. de 2020

It is wonderful visual and oral explanation about calculus. Even though I am Mathematics graduate, I understand the physical and geometrical explanation through this course. I recommend those who are like to begin their calculus class through this course. I heartily thank coursera for providing me a opportunity to learn. This course prove that courser is the master of online courses.

por Tenzin W

6 de dic. de 2020

Completed the course ! I had been separated from Calculus for almost two years, took up this course and wooh, in the short span of 5 weeks, got in touch with previously underestimated concepts and also got introduced to few beautiful formulas, theorems and laws. i wont spoil anymore...but here is the Best Professor yet. Thank You, UoS for the course and the Professor as well.

por rayven v

9 de ago. de 2020

This course was amazing! Had no prior knowledge on Calculus, however the professor really managed to make Calculus look like a fun and a stimulating course. He explained everything with so much detail yet clear, and his passion for Mathematics is really visible through the way he explains things in each video. Love this course! highly recommended. Thank you Professor Easdown!

por Mohd. A H

13 de jul. de 2020

David Easdown has a case of Mathematics Enthusiasm more infectious than any epidemic. While the course is obviously a top-notch intro to calculus, it is also worth a look for anyone who's had a rocky relationship with maths. You will come out of this course with a solid appreciation for mathematics as a whole and a stable foundation for learning more calculus in the future.

por Shubham B

12 de abr. de 2020

This course on calculus has completely changed my perspective about maths, I never get the concepts of function, domain, range, limits, the derivative, the integrals, but after completing this course now I am fully confident regardings the fundamental concepts of calculus.

Sir, you teach me very complex looking concepts in very simple language.

Thank you so much, sir.

por Navneeth S

30 de jul. de 2020

This has been a really great course and I thank Professor Easdown very much for making this happen. This has been my first encounter learning calculus, and I joined this course for me to have an insight into calculus when I start Year 12 this year. But I have learnt much more broad ranges of concepts than I had expected in a very easy to understand and adaptable manner.

por MIN Z

31 de dic. de 2020

I've learned these concepts in high school, but I forgot everything because I barely used mathematics in my life after graduating from high school. Professor David Easdown explains these concepts in a constructive and logical way which makes math less elusive. I love listening to these lectures! Highly recommend other students who want to improve fundamental calculus.

por Lachlan W

11 de jun. de 2020

David has been incredibly helpful over the duration of this course. The process of videos and detailed notes before consolidating learning have been super useful! I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to step into University math or who has an interest in calculus.

Although it does get hard, I'm sure you will have just as much or more fun than I did.

por Tomer P

30 de ago. de 2020

Marvelous and fascinating course. David is teaching this course with such passion and enthusiasm. Every small detail is explained with care and provided with examples which help students fully understand and experience why the theory behind works. The fully detailed reading notes and quizzes accompanied to each lesson are the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

por Lintha S

2 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course! Clear explanations, comprehensive (includes a module on pre-calculus so it is a great way to refresh memory for those who have had some prior education as well as beginners!), engaging quizzes and a very helpful discussion forum. Also well-paced - 5 weeks is not too long nor to short! Definitely recommend as an introductory course on calculus.

por Kyle R

20 de jun. de 2020

Very nicely organized introduction to Calculus. I felt comfortable taking this course after having been away from mathematics courses for a few years. The instructor is excellent uses some great applied examples of different concepts. I could have gone without a few of the proofs in the second week on derivatives and the week on integrals. Really good overall

por Omar M

1 de sep. de 2020

This is without a doubt the best online course about calculus. If you are looking to build some strong foundations or get a refresher, don't think about it, you are not going to find a better course. Shoutout to Professor Easdown and the team that built this course, you've really done a superb job! This course is thorough, high-quality, and best of all, FUN!

por Michael d H 

8 de dic. de 2020

This course has been my “Covid” companion for the last 8 months. It has kept me sane. The instructor (David Easdown) is essentially what makes this course. His dedication and knowledge is what drives this to be the best experience, for me at any rate, and from what I read here, and others of a lifetime.

por Mattia C

28 de abr. de 2020

Very, very, well explained, for everyone (even for me, without a strong math background). A lot of exercises that helps to fix the knowledges and a detailed notes for every argument. A lot of help directly from the instructor in the discussion forum. One of the best courses I ever attended.

por Maahir J

20 de abr. de 2020

Exactly what I needed! Clear, concise explanations covering a wide array of topics. Moreover, the professor's visible mathematical passion and enthusiasm made the course all the more interesting. It is definitely the most structured and intuitive dive into Calculus!

por Ali T

5 de ago. de 2019

Simply - lean way to become higher than average in calculus. Love the course with its subject and material structure. Lecturer explains all the stuff lovely and with passion. Music introduction deserves separate appreciation. Thanks a lot!

por Hércules R

25 de may. de 2020

For the first time, I was able to practice and learn Calculus in a clear way. This course gave me the opportunity to understand the applications of derivatives and integrals in a way I never did before.

por Leonardo C M

19 de jul. de 2020

This is a great course to take for people who are not at all involved in Calculus maths. I was new at it and I truly believe I have learned a lot. Excellent instructor and very comprehensive materials.

por Nicholas F A

14 de jun. de 2020

A good recap of important mathematical concepts and and different perspectives, providing interesting elucidation, to what is already known. Thank you for this course, it was superbe.

por Jared E

21 de oct. de 2020

Very thorough, with an exceptional instructor. Hands down the best instructor I've ever seen on Coursera, showing both enthusiasm for the material and for education.

por Denis P

7 de oct. de 2020

I’ve been teaching science for 31 years in a highschool. This course was really a good way to refresh my mind. Moreover, the professor was outstanding.

por Maureen G G

26 de jun. de 2020

Very good course. The teacher is amazing!

por Daryl J S

26 de jun. de 2020

Great calculus refresher course!

por jackson s q

11 de ene. de 2020

Whilest I greatly apreciated the consise nature of this course, sometimes I found that ample explination on particularly difficult topics was sorely lacking. Often techniques such as partial fraction decomposition would be assumed which is a problem for people entering into this course relatively blind to mathematics.

If this course is re-vamped then I think more depth would be a great addition especially in areas that are particular complex and require detailed understanding.