Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.8
stars
1,726 calificaciones
449 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Principales revisiones

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 444 revisiones para Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

por Adam Ł

Mar 31, 2017

[Going through Week 8 now] Mr Nalebuff is a great teacher, he introduces advanced concepts basing on the most understandable day-to-day examples. The course material covers a wide range of topics, but every single one of them is taught thoroughly and professionally.

Great cases to get some hands-on experience with negotiation.

Beautiful animations by Mr Dan Ashwood, hats off for you sir.

I am definitely going to recommend the course to some of my friends keen on the matter.

Thank you!

por Shane I E

Oct 08, 2019

Outstanding course that Barry and his team have put together. You will be hard-pressed to find a more fun and engaging learning program. The content is interesting and challenging. The exercises are fun, testing and really help solidify concepts and practices, as well as introducing you to some remarkable individuals around the world. I ended up negotiating with a magistrate in Ghana and a lawyer in Poland. Highly recommend this course to novice and experienced negotiators alike.

por Sebastian S

Dec 02, 2019

Have you ever heard the saying, "there are things you know you don't know. And there are things you don't know that you don't know." This course had so much material that I would have never pursued to learn because I never knew it was a thing. I think everyone in life needs to take this course. It is applicable to the day to day life we all live. Thank you so much Professor for taking the time to put this together. I wish there was a part 2 after this introduction class.

por Colin P

Aug 07, 2018

This course opened up a new way of thinking for me about negotiation and value creation, and got me thinking about applying game theory to real world applications (my mental pie is expanded!). The format is different from any other online course I've taken: you start at 60, go to 100, then cruise at 40 for the rest of the course. Finding a negotiating partner, and the coordinating the logistics, can be challenging, but is worthwhile. Persistence in this course pays offs.

por Tamar A

Mar 31, 2018

Great course with a great professor! Although some of the material requires reasonable math skills, overall all the material was easy to understand and the cases and examples made the theory uncomplicated and memorable. The knowledge and skills acquired during this course made me a lot more confident while dealing with any type of negotiation - I express my gratitude for Mr. Nalebuff for the terrific work he does done by teaching this course.

por VIJAY R

Jul 19, 2019

Professor Barry taught very well. The best online class i attended in coursera, edx, udemy etc. Much appreciated. The peer learning is amazing if you are lucky enough to get highly skilled partners. My partners included a guy with Six Sigma Black belt, professional trainer with post grad in business who trains many professionals and a medical-business expert. You learn a lot and this was a spectacular experience!

por Christina S

Apr 18, 2017

GREAT COURSE. Barry is an excellent teacher - his videos are effective, the practice quizzes really drive home the concepts, and the in-person practice negotiations were both fun and informative. All of the guest teachers provided great perspective and insight on the world of negotiating. I feel like I got a well rounded introduction to negotiation, and I'm confident enough to apply the principles in real life!

por Garrett C

Apr 01, 2017

I've completed 13 courses on Coursera. Far and away, this is the best class! Barry Nalebuff is a terrific lecturer and teacher. The course is well assembled (professionally animated in some sections!), interactive (case studies worked on with classmates), and features outside experts. The ROI from this course is off the charts! Take it - your career, and even personal life, will greatly benefit from it.

por Philip O

Oct 12, 2019

An excellent investment of time and effort to gain both powerful and useful insights which help polish existing negotiation skills or enable new approaches that can be used in any negotiation. Don't hesitate to take this course as it will yield great returns on your time and effort invested in taking it. So, enjoy the learning and strike better deals as a result. Good luck!

por Edward H C F

Jul 23, 2018

So far, the best course I have taken in Coursea. Full of practical and interesting presentation, I am still enjoying the learning experience that covers the difficult theory in so much fun, clear and concise explanation.

Despite the difficulty for finding a partner in Asia to complete the course negotiation exercise, this is the best learning experience I have ever had.

por Darryl B

May 08, 2016

This is without question one of the best course I have taken online or in a classroom as an undergraduate or in graduate school. The professor is smart, witty and has a great presentation style. As this is my first course on Coursera, I am so happy that I found it. My goodness, how much more money and opportunities I would have had if I had this course 10 years ago.

por Al A

Jan 04, 2018

I've been negotiating in my professional role for 14 years and still had a lot to learn from Barry's course. His application of economics principles to real life negotiation was enlightening. The production of the course is the best I've seen on Coursera, and the delivery style was very engaging from the start. Would love to attend one of his classes in person!

por Neerav G S

Nov 09, 2019

Excellent course! Very well made videos able to retain attention, Special Thanks to Professor Nalebuff for teaching me so much about the nit and grit of negotiations in a very interesting manner. The practical negotiation experiences help tremendously, I appreciate the efforts of the entire team to help prepare this course. Thank you.

Neerav Shah, India

por Bhupinder S

Sep 19, 2016

This course is a great resource of negotiation skills for me (some one new to Strategic / Managerial Skills). I cleared this course with good score and purchased the certificate for this course as well and this to my professional skills.

I would recommend this course to someone who is looking to grow negotiation / strategic and or managerial skills.

por Kay N

Sep 10, 2019

Unlike many other negotiation courses which only focus on the importance of eloquence and gesture to affect people's decision making process, this course introduces a better approach to negotiation through very specific and persuasive principles. An excellent course which has helped change my perspective on negotiation. Thank you very much Barry.

por Joseph N S

Jan 06, 2018

This course is really well thought out, and the professor takes a logical--and fun--approach from explaining the concept of the pie, all the way to more advanced topics. Additionally, the real-world experiences and engaging videos helped me absorb the information more quickly and relate it back to my own past and, hopefully future, negotiations!

por Joey B

Nov 05, 2015

The good: introduction of some deep concepts that I haven't seen yet, in a clear format.

What could be better: I would have preferred the course to focus more on the technical aspects, and there were quite large sections that I thought didn't add much to the information content.

Thankfully there was enough good for it to get a high rating overall.

por Prateek D

Jun 08, 2016

This course is highly recommended for anyone in the world of business, whether you are running a business, want to run one or are a corporate employee. The course is very well presented with animations and graphics and business games are included which help you learn a lot. Quite simply put this is one of the best courses I have ever taken!

por Mark S

Feb 07, 2017

Professor Nalebuff is an absolutely phenomenal professor/educator. The course was extremely interesting and useful. I hope to use what Dr. Nalebuff taught in my negotiations regarding my daughter's upcoming wedding. Fortunately, the process is in its infancy. I have already recommended this course to my future son-in-law.

Thank you.

por Sumit T

Jul 04, 2017

One of the best courses I have ever taken online. The professor was exceptionally charismatic and put a lot of effort into his video production. The course material and delivery were excellent. A great primer for anyone who looks to better understand effective negotiation strategies for either their personal or professional lives.

por Ameya D

Jul 07, 2017

An absolutely amazing course, full of relevant topics and teachings to become a principled and persuasive negotiator. I will continue to refer to my notes and keep coming back to some of the course material to refresh concepts. Definitely recommend this course for anybody looking to improve their understanding of negotiation skills!

por Nathan S

Dec 10, 2016

Very engaging and knowledgeable tutor. The use of case studies with actors brought the online experience alive and reinforced the taught insights with a sense of discovery. A highly recommended course useful for anyone at any level. A good foundation for further study in negotiation, game theory or conflict resolution. Thank you.

por Fendy K

May 08, 2017

It was a pleasure attending and completing this class. I'd highly recommend this course to other professionals who spend most of their time doing a negotiation, just like I do. I definitely gained a lot of new knowledge from Prof. Barry, not only from his teaching but also the way the online course was prepared by his team.

por Sally

Sep 30, 2018

Eye open course, I think the main thing I learned from this course is a new perspective to see many things. Meanwhile, the interactive sessions are also very helpful which we get chance to practice meanwhile learned from our peers. Very appreciate the efforts from the professor and his team for giving such a great course!

por Emil F

Aug 07, 2016

Very well made course. The lecture are fun and not boring at all!

It's a very good introduction, and the main takeaway is that you'll learn why and how to negotiate fair.

For a beginner in negotiation, this course lays a very good foundation, and opens the eyes, broadens the view on what negociation really is meant to be.